From AusMetal Guide
Revision as of 00:49, 12 June 2022 by Goreripper (talk | contribs) (→‎Discography)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginGold Coast, QLD
GenresDeath metal
Years active1996 - present
LabelsModern Music, Unique Leader
Associated actsROME, Divine Heresy, Five Finger Death Punch, Throne of Ashes
MembersMark Haggblad, Mark Hawkins, John Sankey
Past memberssee left

Band members

  • Current Line-up
    • Mark Haggblad (vocals)
    • Mark Hawkins (guitar)
    • John Sankey (drums, samples)
  • Former members
    • Kyle Zemanek (vocals)
    • Hal Berkstresser (bass)
    • Tony Sabatino (samples, keys)
    • Brett Noordin (guitar, vocals) (1996 - 2011)
    • Leighton Kearns (bass) (2001 - 2002, 2005 - 2008)
    • Brett Carpio (guitar) (2005 - 2008)
    • Patrick Brown (samples) (2005 - 2008)
    • Jason Lacey (guitar) (2004 - 2005)
    • Wayde Dunn (bass) (2002 - 2005)
    • Mark Walpole (guitar) (1996 - 2004)
    • Nik Carpenter (vocals) (1996 - 2002)
    • Joel Graham (bass) (1996 - 2001)

Band information

Devolved is a technical death metal band from the Gold Coast. After a fan had an epileptic episode at one of their shows, the band was was ordered by a court to place a warning disclaimer regarding their light show on all subsequent promotional material including press releases and gig posters.

Technologies was released in 2001 and shortly after Joel Graham was replaced by Leighton Kearns. Kearns then left Devolved in early 2002 and was replaced by Wayde Dunn from Excruciate. The band toured extensively through the UK and Europe in 2002. Nik Carpenter was sacked after only a few shows of the tour and Brett Noordin and Dunn took over vocal duties for the remainder of the dates. After returning to Australia, Devolved toured nationally with Suns Owl; Carpenter sang lead vocals at some of these shows. The Automation 001 EP was meant to be the first of three released the same year but Carpenter's dismissal sank the idea.

Devolved worked on new material for much of 2003; drummer Sankey was also involved in a recording project with Dino Cazares of Fear Factory during this time and wrote some songs with him that were later used on the Roadrunner Allstars album. Jason Lacey replaced Mark Walpole and Patrick Brown was also added to the line-up during this time. In September 2004, the band's second album Calculated appeared. The vocals on the CD were recorded by Nik Carpenter.

Following a national tour to support the album, Devolved moved to the US in early 2005 and was based in Los Angeles. Leighton Kearns rejoined the band and Lacey was replaced by Brett Carpio. The band signed to US label Killzone in December 2006. Kyle Zemanek of Five Finger Death Punch became the band's new vocalist as Devolved worked to build a profile in America. After Carpio left in 2008, Hal Berkstresser replaced him at first before switching to bass when Kearns departed later. Now signed to Unique Leader, Calculated was re-released in North America in early 2010. Oblivion was released in 2011, after which Noordin left Devolved and returned to Australia. He put together a line-up that also included Graham, Carpenter, Walpole and Brown and toured under the Devolved name with Todd Hansen on drums. That line-up later became ROME. Sankey continued working under the Devolved name. He worked with Fear Factory on the albums Mechanize and The Industrialist and completed another two albums with Mark Hawkins and Mark Haggblad.



2001 Technologies self release
2004 Calculated Modern Music
2011 Oblivion Unique Leader
2012 Reprisal Unique Leader


2002 Automation 001 self release