From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresPower metal, Thrash
Years active1999 - 2015
LabelsMajestic Rock
Associated actsPegazus
Past membersLuke Burnham
  • Joe Frisna
  • Riccardo Mecchi
  • Richard Vella
  • Scott Griffith
  • Chris Powell
  • Simon D'Alfonso
  • Chris Binding
  • Danny Cecati
  • Erf Khadem
  • Steve Stergiardis
  • Michael Vrljic

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Riccardo Mecchi (vocals, guitar)
    • Luke Burnham (drums)
    • Chris Powell (bass)
    • Richard Vella (guitar)
  • Former members
    • Joe Frisna (bass) 2003 -
    • Scott Griffith (guitar) 2006 -
    • Steve Stegiardis (guitar) 2000 - 2006
    • Erf Khadem (bass) 2002
    • Chris Binding (bass) 2001 - 2002
    • Danny Cecati (vocals) 2000 - 2001
    • Simon D'Alfonso (bass) 1999 - 2000
    • Michael Vrjic (guitar) 1999 - 2000

Band information

Anarion was a Melbourne power metal band that formed in early 1999 as a three-piece of Riccardo Mecchi, Simon D'Alfonso and Michael Vrljic with ex-The Ember Tide drummer Luke Burnham joining some months later. At the time Mecchi was also lead singer but in January 2000 Pegazus vocalist Danny Cecati joined the fold. After original members Vrljic and D'Alfonso departed, Anarion continued without a bass player for almost a year until Chris Binding joined in 2001. Cecati himself left Anarion at the beginning of 2001 and Mecchi took on the vocal duties once again. Former Ember Tide bass player Erf Khadem replaced Binding in early 2002, but he was soon replaced by Joe Frisna. Anarion emerged in 2006 with a new album through Majestic Rock Records and did a short Japanese tour. Stergiardis then stepped aside for Scott Griffith in mid-2006. A third album that was released in mid-2009 and Richard Vella replaced Griffiths. After appearing at Steel Assassins in 2012 and Progfest in 2013, a fourth album was rumoured but the band has split.



2001 The Journey Begins... Independent
2006 Unbroken Majestic Rock
2009 Beneath it All Independent