From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Dave Gogerly (David Hayes) (vocals)
    • Gavin Hansen (drums)
    • Scott Jackman (guitar)
    • Stewie Williams (bass)
  • Former members
    • Scampers (Cam Edwards) (bass) 1988 - 1996
    • John Hall (drums) 1993 - 1994
    • Jeff Hare (drums) 1988 - 1992


Melbourne, VIC, 1988

Band information

Blackseed was a strong rocking Melbourne four piece in the Soundgarden vein, mixing the finer parts of contemporary commercial metal and brash alternative rock. The band formed in since 1992, with their first EP surfacing a year later. Over the next few years the band's sound evolved; "Detachment" was a strong indicator of Blackseed's clearly commercial potential. Drummer Hansen was replaced after that EP was recorded, but later rejoined the band. Blackseed went on to release a third CD and supported Strapping Young Lad and Entombed in early 1999 and were primed for a new release, but announced their break up that September.

Hansen, Jackman and Williams later formed Lump.



1993 Skin self release
1996 Drown Laughing Oracle
1997 Detachment Stomp