From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginPerth, WA
GenresDeath metal
Years active1990 - 1996, 2003, 2009
Associated actsThe Devil Rides Out, Mhorgl, HeadShot
MembersJames Campbell, Matthew Jefferson, Joe Kapiteyn, Gareth Morris,
Past membersBrett McCarthy, Bjorg Saetre, Robert Thorpe, Andrew Wright

Band Members

  • Final Line-Up
    • James Campbell (bass)
    • Matthew Jefferson (guitar)
    • Joe Kapiteyn (vocals)
    • Gareth Morris (drums)
    • Andrew Wright (keys)
  • Former members
    • Robert Thorpe (keys) 2003
    • Bjorg Saetre (keys) (1994 - 1996)
    • Brett McCarthy (drums) (1992 - 1993)

Band Information

An inspired and innovative death metal band from Perth, iNFeCTeD was one of the stand-out entries in the Australian metal field in the first half of the 1990s. With a sound rivalling that of Godflesh and early Fear Factory, iNFeCTeD's first album was a dark and angry volume. The second outing saw the introduction of Bjorg Saetre on keyboards in a bid to develop the more Gothic aspects of the music, but while the material on CoNTRoL was exceptional, woeful production and an inability to tour regularly due to the distance from the east coast scene meant it failed and the band folded in mid 1996 after appearing at the Big day Out earlier in the year. Campbell later formed Tyrant and Kapiteyn is now with The Devil Rides Out after a few years with HeadShot.

In July 2003, iNFeCTeD regrouped in the studio with Robert Thorpe on keys to record an EP, 'Straight White God'. The reunion was not sustained beyond this release. The EP is only available as a download from the iNFeCTeD website. The group reformed for a show in May 2008. crawlspace was remastered and re-mixed for release in October 2009 and the band played one final show to launch it.



1994 crawlspace Thrust
1995 CoNTRoL Thrust
2009 crawlspace Prime Cuts

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
1992 "Blind" Come to Daddy Thrust