From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Band members

  • Line-up
    • Matt Aitchison (drums, keys)
    • Rohan Edwards (vocals, guitar)
    • Bevan Carroll (bass)
    • Gavin McKenzie (live bass, 1997 gigs)
    • Paul Sweeney (studio bass on Distant Mind Alternative)


Canberra, ACT, 1996

Band information

Strikingly innovative and original band from Canberra mixing strong, heavy and dark progressive metal with black ambience and industrial trimmings. The band formed in 1996 and recorded their debut album almost immediately, receiving loud plaudits from the Christian metal community for their efforts. The debut album also received a positive review from Hot Metal magazine.

Original bassist Bevan Carroll left the band soon after recording the debut album and was replaced by Gavin McKenzie. Kohllapse supported UK doom metal band Cathedral on their Canberra tour date in 1997, and played a handful of local gigs before McKenzie left the band due to a personality clash with Edwards. They released their second full length album in 1999. Drummer Matt Aitchison left the band in mid-1999 and the band folded. There were vague reports of a reactivation of the band in 2006, however nothing has come to light thus far.



1996 untitled Riot!
1999 Distant Mind Alternative self release

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
2005 "Contort" Oz Mosh 2005 Soundmass