From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresThrash metal
Years active1984 - 1986
Associated actsHobbs Angel of Death, Rampage, Mass Confusion, Vulvagun, Fair Warning, Depression
Past membersPat DeGarmo, Dave Frew, Peter Hobbs, Chris Phillips, Alex Radanov, Mick Zaitcz

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Peter Hobbs (vocals, guitar)
    • Alex Radanov (guitar)
    • Mick Zaitcz (bass)
    • Chris Phillips (drums)
  • Former members
    • Harold (bass) (1985 - 1986)
    • Dave Frew (bass) (1984 - 1985)
    • Pat DeGarmo (drums) (1984)


Melbourne, VIC, 1984

Band information

Tyrus began as a hard rock band in Melbourne in 1984 but slowly developed into a thrash act before Hobbs split the band up and went solo as Hobbs' Angel of Death in 1986. The group was formed by Hobbs, Radanov, bassist Dave Frew and drummer Pat DeGarmo. Phillips replaced DeGarmo almost right away and Tyrus shifted into thrash territory. Frew departed to form another band called Rampage and Harold from Fair Warning took his place.

The band recorded a four track demo at this point and soon after Zaitcz joined the band as bassist but not long after Hobbs decided to record most of the group's songs under his own name and Tyrus disbanded.