From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginBrisbane, QLD
GenresMelodic hard rock, heavy metal
Years active1984 - 1990
LabelsRaw Deal, Sundown
Associated actsBlack Widow, Trooper
MembersHamish Axam, Aaron Doblo, Peter James, Jeff Shanks, David Warner
Past membersScott Allard, Michael Black, Peter Cook, Chris Furphy, Michael Hannah, Darryl McDonald, Matthew Mickelson, Robbie Peters, Dave Roberts

Band Members

  • Line-Up
    • Hamish Axam (guitar)
    • Aaron Doblo (drums)
    • Peter James (Peter Sharman) (vocals)
    • Jeff Shanks (bass)
    • David Warner (guitar)
  • Former Members
    • Matthew Mickelson (guitar) (1990)
    • Chris Furphy (drums) (1990)
    • Dave Roberts (keys) (1988 - 1990)
    • Peter Cook (bass) (1988 - 1990)
    • Robbie Peters (Peter Robinson) (guitar) (1988 - 1989)
    • Darryl McDonald (drums) (1988 - 1989)
    • Ziggy Stratten (drums) (1987 - 1988)
    • Michael Hannah (bass) (1984 - 1987)
    • Scott Allard (drums) (1984 - 1987)
    • Michael Black (bass) (1984)

Band Information

Vice was an early Brisbane entry into the true metal stakes, forming in 1984 and establishing a sound that flirted with thrash and speed metal. Michael Hannah replaced Michael Black early on and Vice backed up the mini-album release with an interstate tour and support slots with The Sweet and Stryper, however the band split up after James was stabbed on-stage by an enraged punter in 1985.

The singer reformed the band late the following year under the name LA Rokk, before reverting back to Vice. The band had an all new line up of Darryl McDonald (drums, ex-Black Widow and Gypsy Rose), Peter Cook (bass, ex-Black Widow), Robby Peters (guitar, ex-Trooper) and Dave Roberts (keys), keeping the name but changing Vice's musical outlook toward a mellower, hard rocking style in the vein of Bon Jovi.

Vice carried on in varying incarnations into 1990 but split that year. In 2011 the band reformed under the stewardship of James and Warner.



1989 Take Me Home Raw Deal
1990 Bad Girls Raw Deal
2012 Vice Raw Deal
2013 Meat self release


1985 Daddy's Little Girl Sundown