From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Background information
OriginPerth, WA
GenresProgressive metal
Years active1999 - present
LabelsDockyard 1, Riot!, Season of Mist
Associated actsNachthimmel, Psychonaut, Scourge, Noctis, Vespers Descent, Sámain, Pathogen, Black Steel, Inter Alia
MembersAlex Canion, Ashley Doodkorte, Daniel Estrin, Simone Dow, Scott Kay
Past membersMark Baker, Mark Boeijen, Geoff Callaghan, Mark De Vattimo, Melissa Fiocco, Jeanna Greaig, Chris Hanssen, Adam Lovkis, Emanual Rudnicki

Band members

  • Current Line-up
    • Alex Canion (bass)
    • Ashley Doodkorte (drums)
    • Daniel Estrin (vocals, keys)
    • Simone Dow (guitar)
    • Scott Kay (guitar)
  • Former members
    • Mark Boeijen (drums) (2006 - 2011)
    • Chris Hanssen (guitar) (2009 - 2010)
    • Mark De Vattimo (guitar) (1999 - 2008)
    • Melissa Fiocco (bass) (2003 - 2007)
    • Geoff Callaghan (drums) (2000 - 2006)
    • Emanuel Rudnicki (guitar) (2000 - 2006)
    • Jenna Greaig (bass) (2001 - 2003)
    • Mark Baker (keys) (1999 - 2000)
    • Adam Lovkis (drums) (1999 - 2000)



Perth, WA, 1999

Band information

Voyager is a Perth band that plays a form of symphonic progressive metal that incorporates heavy synths and influences from 80s and 90s Europop and New Wave. The band was formed in Perth around Nachthimmel's Daniel Estrin, who was playing guitar at the time, Mark Baker and Adam Lovkis. Mark De Vattimo from Psychonaut joined shortly after and when Baker left Estrin switched to keyboards. The band split for a few months in 2000 when Estrin went to Europe and Lovkis quit. In early 2001 the line-up consolidated with Geoff Callaghan and Jennah Greaig. Emanuel Rudnicki joined Black Steel in early 2002 but left after only a few months and rejoined Voyager.

In 2003 the band recorded and released the Element V album before Greaig was replaced by Melissa Fiocco. In late 2005, Rudnicki and Callaghan were both fired from the band. Ex-Scourge guitarist Simone Dow and Vespers Descent/ex-Pathogen and Sámain drummer Mark Boeijen subsequently joined Voyager. The band toured Europe in 2006 and were booked to support Nevermore in Perth on their return however that show was cancelled, as was a subsequent support slot with Yngwie Malmsteen.

The band completed and released the uniVers album through German label Dockyard 1 during 2007 and Alex Canion from Psychonaut replaced Fiocco ahead of its release. The band made the Top 10 in the Metal/Hardcore Category of the 2007 Musicoz Awards and toured to Sydney and Melbourne in November 2007. uniVers came in at #7 metal release for 2007 on the Full Metal Racket listener's poll.

Mark De Vattimo decided to leave Voyager in June 2008. In December he was replaced by Chris Hanssen. The band's third album I Am the ReVolution was released in August 2009. During 2010, Scott Kay replaced Hanssen and Voyager supported Soilwork' in Perth. In May 2011 Voyager supported Alestorm nationally and began work on another album. They were added to the line-up of Prog Power US 2011, the first time an Australian band had made the bill. The Meaning of I featured guest appearances by DC Cooper of Royal Hunt and 'Daniel Tompkins from TesseracT. After its release, Boeijen departed the band. On their return to Australia, Voyager toured with Children of Bodom.

Voyager toured the US and Canada with Rhapsody of Fire in May 2012 and appeared at several festival dates including Bastardfest upon returning to Australia. 2013 was a quieter year for the band but in April they played with Epica and in October they opened for The Devin Townsend Project in Perth. During the year they launched a crowdfunder to support the recording of V and reached their financial goal within three days. The album arrived in June, preceded by the single Breaking Down. In 2015, Voyager toured Australia with Klone and in September toured the US and appeared once again at Prog Power.

The band's next album Ghost Mile was released in May 2017 and the following year Voyager played several showcase events in the UK and Europe including London's O2. Back in Australia, Voyager opened the main stage at both legs of the Download Festival in March 2019. Late in the year, their seventh album Colours in the Sun was released. Tour plans and festival appearances were subsequently cancelled due to COVID but in late 2020 the band made a bid for Eurovision selection, but failed to be selected. In December 2021 they launched another Eurovision bid. On the night of the public vote, Voyager won the vote overall but only came in second after the industry vote. Their song "Dreamer" peaked at #6 on the independent single chart nationally the following week.

In 2023 Voyager became the first Australian band (as opposed to solo artist) to represent the country at Eurovision following an internal industry vote. They finished ninth overall, then returned to Australia for a sold-out national tour. Fearless in Love was released on 14 July, 2023 and peaked on the ARIA chart at #35. A follow-up European tour planned for October was cancelled when Estrin was diagnosed with cancer. Tours since then were rescheduled but in March 2024 the band announced it was again cancelling all touring while Estrin continues his treatment.



2003 Element V self release
2007 uniVers Dockyard 1
2009 I am the ReVolution Dockyard 1
2011 The Meaning of I Riot!
2014 V Independent
2017 Ghost Mile Independent
2019 Colours in the Sun Season of Mist
2022 A Voyage Through Time Season of Mist
2023 Fearless Love Season of Mist


2006 Sober Independent
2014 Breaking Down Independent
2016 Misery is Only Company Independent
2019 Brightstar Season of Mist
2021 This Boy's in Love Season of Mist
2022 Dreamer Independent
2022 Submarine Independent
2023 Promise Season of Mist