From AusMetal Guide
Revision as of 20:55, 15 December 2022 by Goreripper (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginSydney, NSW
GenresThrash metal
Years active1988 - 1995
Associated acts
Past members
  • Joe Buttigieg
  • Matt Coffey
  • Steve Moore
  • Greg Smith
  • Mick Sultana

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Greg Smith (vocals, bass)
    • Joe Buttigieg (guitar)
    • Mick Sultana (guitar)
    • Steve Moore (drums)
  • Former members
    • Matt Coffey (drums) 1988 - 1990


Sydney, NSW, 1988

Band information

Addictive was a Sydney thrash band that formed in 1988. They soon became one of the leading bands on the scene with two strong albums and a large following that carried through until their ultimate dissolution in 1996. The band's "Ward 74" demo led to serious interest and Addictive was picked up by Survival records, who issued the first album. The band supported Motörhead and found offshore interest in Germany and western Europe for their enthusiastic thrash metal style. Matt Coffey left the band after the first album however, and soon became a member of the embryonic Psychrist line-up.

Steve Moore from Enticer moved in as Coffey's replacement in 1990. In 1991 and 1992 Addictive headlined the short-lived Metalfest events. During 1991 the band began work on a second album with producer Bob Daisley but the master tapes went missing and the resultant album did not emerge for another two years. The delays with the release of the album and subsequent lack of support by the label caused the band to lose much of their impetus and Addictive split in 1995.

US label Divebomb re-released Kick 'em Hard with Pity of Man included as a second disc in 2014.



1989 Pity of Man Rattlesnake
1993 Kick 'em Hard Survival
1997 Compilation Survival
2014 Kick 'em Hard Divebomb