From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Band Members

  • Final Line-Up
    • Glen Blazejak (drums)
    • Dan Marsden (bass)
    • Wes Roth (vocals)
    • Yuri Ward (guitar, vocals)
    • Nathan Youngberg (guitar)
  • Former Members
    • Roger Stachow (drums) (1998 - 1999)
    • Kel Dulihanty (vocals) (1994 - 1997)
    • Matt Keele (guitar) (1993 - 1997)
    • James Simper (drums) (1993 - 1997)
    • Eddie Telfer (guitar) (1993)
    • Matt Coffey (drums) (1992 - 1993)


Canberra, ACT, 1992

Band Information

Psychrist was a black-tinged death metal band, blasting the winds of hate from out of Canberra since the early 1990s. The embryonic version of the band was a three-piece featuring former Addictive drummer Matt Coffey, Ward and Marsden, and this line-up scored a support with Morbid Angel but broke up sometime later.

With James Simper stepping in on drums and Eddie Telfor on second guitar Psychrist gigged with Pungent Stench. Telfor was shortly replaced by Matt Keele and the line-up which issued the first album The Abysmal Fiend was consolidated. After this the vocal duties were taken on by Kel Dulihanty, with Ward taking up a backing vocal role.

Psychrist's fortunes then see-sawed and the band suffered from a string of personnel changes. The follow-up to Embrace... was recorded as long ago as late 1996 but problems within the band over the highly graphic nature of the original cover artwork (that was eventually used on a Grenade 7” release) followed by yet more personnel upheavals constantly delayed the CD's release.

After 1997's Metal for the Brain appearance Keele, Dulihanty and Simper split from the band, while Yuri Ward joined Armoured Angel as guitarist and singer. He remained a member of Psychrist, however and by mid 1998 the line-up of Ward, Marsden, Stachow, Roth and Youngberg had come together. Stachow and Youngberg were drawn from fellow Canberra deathsters Dying Embers. Blazejak replaced Stachow in early 1999.

Embrace Rapture in Disgust was finally released in February 2000 and the band did a national tour with Encabulos and Deluge. Around the same time, Ward and Blazejak also began playing in Lord Kaos.

The band's Debauching the Minions was released in mid-2002 and the band supported Destruction a short time later. Blazejak left the band in late 2003 and Psychrist subsequently folded. Dulihanty and Ward formed Kill for Satan in 2003 and Marsden, Roth and Youngberg emerged with Infinitum in late 2005.



1994 The Abysmal Fiend Warhead
2000 Embrace Rapture in Disgust Dissident
2002 Debauching the Minions Dissident

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
1995 "Spiral" Warhead Vol 1 Warhead
1999 "The Abysmal Fiend" Under the Southern Cross Chatterbox
2003 "Scourge" Amassing the Hordes Dissident