From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginSydney, NSW
GenresHeavy metal
Years active1995 - present
Associated actsThe Veil, Kunvuk, Sword Toward Self, Ironwood
MembersNick Goryl, Tim Lim, Mat Newton, Ben Nicholls, Katrina Tuffy
Past memberssee left

Band members

  • Line-up
    • Nick Goryl (vocals)
    • Tim Lim (guitar)
    • Mat Newton (guitar)
    • Ben Nicholls (bass)
    • Katrina Tuffy (drums)
  • Former members
    • Steven Reinhart (drums) 2010 - 2011
    • Dan Nahum (drums) 2009
    • Louis Rosin (drums) 2009
    • Luka Szcepanik (bass) 2009
    • Brendan Davie (drums) 1995 - 2009
    • Stewart Horsfield (guitar) 2008 - 2009
    • Morris Mezzatesta (bass) 2008
    • Chris Angell (bass) 2005 - 2006
    • Justin Min (bass) 2004
    • Tom Waters (bass) 1995 - 2004

Band information

Blatherskite is a Sydney band formed by Tim Lim in 1996 as a punk band although they have since developed in a alternative/metal direction over the years. The group started as a three piece with Lim on guitar and vocals along with Tom Waters and Brendan Davie. Nick Goryl joined in 1999 as lead vocalist. Following Waters' departure in 2004, Justin Min held down the role until Chris Angell took over in mid-2005 and Blatherskite toured New Zealand. After that tour, Angell left the band. Morris Mezzatesta (bass) and Stewart Horsfield (guitar) joined at this point but the former's stay was short. Davie split from the band for personal reasons after the recording of Where the Wasteland Ends and his place was taken temporarily by Sword Toward Self drummer Dan Nahum and Mat Newton joined on bass. Louis Rosin and Luka Szcepanik came into the band in 2009 as replacements for Davie and Angell with Newton switching to guitar when Horsfield left around the same time and the group did a tour of Queensland.

In 2010, Blatherskite took on Steve Reinhart as drummer and bassist Ben Nicholls and early the following year played at the Soundwave Festival in Sydney. Shortly afterward former Kunvuk drummer Katrina Tuffy replaced Reinhart.



1995 Vethek self release
1996 Dribble self release
2005 Three Worlds self release
2009 Where the Wasteland Ends self release