From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Idle Ruin
OriginBrisbane, QLD
Years active2020 -
Associated actsDevolved, Limb From Limb, Amassing the Infinite, Idle Ruin, The Decimation Protocol, Vyrion, Gape, Widow the Sea
Past membersSean Hudson, Josh Boast, Peter Moore, Kaleb Doherty, Steve Callanan, Darren Howard-Jones, Jamie Philips, Nads Waddups, Kris Maher, TomCunt, Chris Beaumont, Benn Oudemann, Sasha Yarrow, Wayde Dunn, Chris Gibbings, Meatgrinder Dan

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Sean Hudson (guitar)
    • Josh Boast (guitar)
    • Peter Moore (drums)
  • Former members
    • Kaleb Doherty (bass)
    • Steve Callanan (vocals)
    • Darren Howard-Jones (drums) 2013
    • Jamie Philips (vocals) 2012 - 2014
    • Kris Maher (drums) 2011 - 2012
    • Nads (Brent Waddups) (vocals) 1999 - 2007, 2009 - 2011
    • Tom Cunt (vocals) 2007 - 2009
    • Chris Beaumont (guitar) 1999 - 2005
    • Benn Oudemann (drums) 1999 - 2004
    • Sacha Yarrow (bass) 2003
    • Wayde Dunn (bass) 1999 - 2002
    • Chris Gibbings (bass)
    • Dan the Meatgrinder (bass)


Sunshine Coast, QLD, 1999

Band information

Excruciate was a brutal death metal band from the Sunshine Coast formed by Sean Hudson, Josh Boast, Chris Gibbings and Brent "Nads" Waddups. The band recorded an EP in 2001 but it was not released due to the band being unhappy with the final result. Late in the year Excruciate started work on a full-length album release but during the recording process bass player Wayde Dunn left to join Devolved. Excruciate continued gigging nonetheless, featuring at the 2002 Bloodlust Festival without a bassist.

In mid-2003 the band's first CD appeared. Benn Oudemann left in 2004 and the band had split, but reformed in 2005. Bound and Gagged was released in 2007 and shortly afterwards Tom Cunt repalced Nads. This line-up lasted until late 2009, when Nads and original bassist Chris Gibbings rejoined around the same time. Work began on a third CD in late 2009. Depths of Impurity was released in 2013, with the line-up of Nads, Boast, Hudson on guitar and bass, and Kris Maher on drums. Excruciate carried through with a rotation of line-ups until 2015. They reformed briefly in 2018, but split once again.



2007 Bound and Gagged Southern Extremities
2013 Depths of Impurity Grindhead


2003 Chambers of the Defleshed BlackTalon Media