From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresPower metal
Years active1994 - present
LabelsRock Star, Dockyard 1, Massacre
Associated actsPegazus, Hyperion, Anarion, Taramis, WithoutEnding, Black Majesty, Amethyst
MembersDanny Cecati, Evan Harris, Zain Kimmie, Con Papazoglou, Seb Schneider
Past membersSammy Giaccotto, Rob Gorham, Garrett Ryan, Jim Georgeopoulos, Shirhan Mahan, Anthony Porcia, Jason Smart, Ken Taylor

Band members

  • Current line-up
    • Danny Cecati (vocals)
    • Evan Harris (bass)
    • Zain Kimmie (drums)
    • Con Papazoglou (guitar)
    • Seb Schneider (keyboards)
  • Former members
    • Sammy Giaccotto (keys) (2003 - 2009)
    • Rob Gorham (bass) (1994 - 2008)
    • Garrett Ryan (keys) (2000 - 2002)
    • Jim Georgeopoulos (vocals) (1998 - 2000)
    • Shirhan Mahan (keys) (1998 - 2000)
    • Antony Porcia (guitar) (1997 - 2000)
    • Jason Smart (vocals) (1994 - 1997)
    • Ken Taylor (guitar, vocals) (1994 - 1997)

Band information

Eyefear is a power metal unit from Melbourne which has existed since the mid-1990s. The band issued their debut recording Edge of Existence in late 1996 but only a few months later both original vocalist Jason Smart and guitarist Ken Taylor left the fold and Eyefear was forced into hiatus until late 1997 when guitarist Antony Porchia was recruited. Even so, Eyefear remained without a vocalist until the middle of the following year when, as a result of the break-up of Hyperion, singer Jim Georgeopoulos joined the band. Shirhan Manan was added a short time later on keyboards and an EP was released.

In early 2000 Eyefear had begun work on another full-length release but Manan, Porchia and Georgeopoulos all left the band in quick succession and the venture was put on ice. Georgeopoulos joined WithoutEnding in 2006.

By September 2000 Eyefear had reconvened with Garrett Ryan (keyboards) and ex-Pegazus frontman Cecati joining the fold. Work began on a new album in June 2003 but was delayed when Ryan left the band. Papazoglou recorded the keyboard parts but in the meantime Giacotto was found and the keys were again re-recorded. 9 Elements of Inner Vision was mixed in Gothenburg with Andy LaRocque in April 2004 and released the following November on German label Massacre.

Eyefear supported Blind Guardian in early 2007 and played a show in the US in August. A Room Full of Grey was released the same year and came in at #8 metal release for 2007 on the Full Metal Racket listener's poll. The band played a handful of shows along the east coast in 2007 - 08 before starting work on their fourth album. Recording of The Unseen was completed in mid-2008, after which Rob Gorham left the band. He was eventually replaced by journeyman bassist Evan Harris (Taramis, Black Majesty). Seb Schneider replaced Sam Giacotto in June 2009, ahead of a national tour. The band once again supported Blind Guardian on a 2011 Australian tour, and Eyefear’s fifth album was released in 2012. In October 2013 they opened for Stratovarius nationally.



1996 Edge of Existence self release
2004 9 Elements of Inner Vision Massacre
2007 A World Full of Grey Dockyard 1
2009 The Unseen Dockyard 1
2012 The Inception of Darkness Rock Star


1999 Dawn... A New Beginning self release