I Exist

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
I Exist
OriginCanberra, ACT
GenresSludge metal, hardcore
Years active2008 - present
LabelsResist, Prostethic
Associated actsPod People, Blood Duster
MembersSimon Murphy, Josh Nixon, Aaron Osbourne, Sam Provost, Jake Willoughby, Alex Young

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • Simon Murphy (drums, guitar, vocals)
    • Josh Nixon (guitar)
    • Aaron Osbourne (guitar, vocals)
    • Sam Provost (guitar, vocals)
    • Jake Willoughby (vocals)
    • Alex Young (bass, vocals)
    • Adrian Kelly (occasional live guitar)

Band Information

I Exist is a band from Canberra playing a mixture of hardcore and bottom-heavy sludge. Originally formed in 2008, the band issued a self-released EP the following year before linking up with Resist Records for the full-length follow-up in 2010. Pod People guitarist Josh Nixon joined the band after this as I Exist developed a massive triple-guitar assault with stylistic similarities to bands like Eyehategod and Iron Monkey. 2011 was the group's busiest year, with their excellent second album released just ahead of a national tour with Doomriders in July and appearances at most of the mainland Bastardfests in September/October. 2012 saw the band appear at the Canberra leg of the Groovin' the Moo festival and play a run of shows with Frenzal Rhomb before again lining up as part of Bastardfest in the last quarter of the year. After a European tour in mid-2013, I Exist supported Every Time I Die at two shows on their Australian tour. The band has signed a worldwide deal (excluding Australia) with Prosthetic for the release of their third album From Darkness.



2010 I: A Turn for the Worse Resist
2011 II: The Broken Passage Resist
2013 From Darkness Resist


2009 Three Nails and Book of Flaws self release


2011 Bad Romance (split with Phantoms) Commonbond