From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Also known asMutilated Spastic Iguanas
OriginHobart, TAS
GenresDeath metal, grindcore
Years active1997 - ?
Associated actsPsycroptic, Cranial Devourment, Born Headless, Striborg, Corpse Carving, Excarnated, Embodied, Kathaaria, Gape, Spawn of Possession, Mephistopheles, Iciclan, Space Raven, Domination Campaign
Past membersMatthew Chalk, Tim Ikin, Rick Ring, Reece Hickey, Sam Bryant, Jason Peppiatt, Russell Menzies, Chris Grundwalt, Jarrod Carter, Nick Warren, Brady Denehy

Band Members

  • Final line-Up
    • Matthew Chalk (drums)
    • Tim Ikin (guitar)
    • Rick Ring (vocals)
    • Reece Hickey (guitar)
    • Sam Bryant (bass)
  • Former members
    • Chris Grundwalt (bass) 2007 - 2009
    • Jarrod Carter (bass) 2006 - 2007
    • Jason Peppiatt (bass) 2003 - 2006
    • Nick Warren (bass) 2000 - 2003
    • Brady Denehy (bass) 1997 - 2000
    • Russell Menzies (drums) 1997 - 2000

Band Information

M.S.I. was a brutal grind band from Hobart, formed by Rick Ring, Tim Ikin and Reece Hickey in 1997. The initialised form of the name "Mutated Spastic Iguanas", to avoid a lawsuit from the American rock band MSI the group was required to always include the dots between each letter. The long-form demo releases Testimony of the Miserable and The Vault of Horror were released in 1998 and 1999, and following the recording of 2000's Rhythmic Slamish Brady Denehy and Russell Menzies (Striborg) left the band to be replaced by Nick Warren and Psycroptic's Matthew Chalk. This line-up began recording Dream the Serenade, which was eventually released in 2005, packaged with a live DVD.

Warren left to join Excarnated in 2003, and Jason Peppiatt of Bolverk and Born Headless joined the band but left in 2006 to commit to Psycroptic. That year the band supported Nevermore and appeared at Metal for the Brain. Three-fifths of the band formed Gape in 2011 and M.S.I. officially disbanded in 2015.



2000 Rhythmic Slamish Independent
2005 Dream the Serenade Independent