Rise of Avernus

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Rise of Avernus
OriginSydney, NSW
Years active2011 - present
Associated actsStodowa, Black Horizon, Katabasis, Hemina, Nevetherym, Troldhaugen, Havoc, Lycanthia, Bane of Isildur, KnightQueste, Synthetic Breed
MembersMatthew Bell, Andrew Craig, Ben Vanvollenhoven, Mares Rafalæᵭa
Past membersCat Guirgius, Daniel Warrington

Band Members

  • Line-up
    • Matthew Bell (guitar)
    • Andrew Craig (drums)
    • Mares Rafalæᵭa (vocals, keys)
    • Ben Vanvollenhoven (guitar, vocals)
  • Former members
    • Daniel Warrington (bass) 2012 - 2015
    • Cat Guirguis (vocals, keys) 2011 - 2014

Band Information

Rise of Avernus is a progressive doom band formed in 2011 by Cat Guirguis of Black Horizon and Ben Vanvollenhoven (Stodowa) as a recording project. The three-track EP was recorded and released in early 2012, after which the rest of the band was recruited for live work. During 2012 the band toured as far afield as Darwin, opened for Apocalyptica in Sydney and appeared at the Sydney leg of the Whiplash Festival in October. A debut album was released in November 2013 and the band toured Australia with Enslaved in November 2013 followed by shows with Hypno5e. In April 2014 the band opened for Kylesa at some shows on their tour. Following a Sydney appearance with Septicflesh in mid-2014, Guirguis was removed from the band. She was replaced by former Synthetic Breed member Mares Rafalæᵭa. Grutle Kjellson of Enslaved makes a guest appearance on the 2015 EP. At the end of 2015 Rise of Avernus toured with Gods of Eden, after which Dan Warrington left the band.



2013 L'appel du vide Independent


2012 Rise of Avernus Independent
2015 Dramatis Personae Code 666