From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginNewcastle, NSW
GenresThrash metal
Years active2005 - 2014
Past membersSam Brown, Michael Evans, Matthew Graham, Daniel McInnes, Doug Murray, Tyler Purvis, Ben Yates

Band Members

  • Final Line-Up
    • Sam Brown (bass)
    • Michael Evans (guitar)
    • Doug Murray (guitar, vocals)
    • Ben Yates (drums)
  • Former Members
    • Tyler Purvis (bass) 2006 - 2012
    • Daniel McInnes (guitar) 2007 - 2012
    • Matthew Graham (guitar) 2005 - 2007

Band Information

Sabretung was a thrash metal band from Newcastle that formed in 2005 around Doug Murray and Matthew Graham. Ben Yates joined late in the year and while looking for a bass player the band recorded "The Price is Pain" EP. Tyler Purvis joined Sabretung in mid 2006. Graham left in mid 2007 and was replaced by Daniel McInnes. A regular fixture on the Newcastle live circuit, the band has supported Paul Di'anno and Mortal Sin among others.

In 2011 The band released their first full length album "Conquest". Following the release of the second album in 2012, Tyler Purvis and Daniel McInnes left Sabretung. The band appeared at Steel Assassins later that year with new members Michael Evans and Sam Brown. In early 2014 the band split.



2011 Conquest self release
2012 Collision self release


2006 The Price is Pain self release

Compilation track:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
2005 "Suicide Terror" Thrash Never Dies - An Underground Compilation Thrash Never Dies
2012 "For the Term of His Natural Life..." Euphony Fusion V Welkin