The Eternal

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The Eternal
OriginMelbourne VIC
GenresGoth metal, melodic metal, progressive rock
Years active2002 - present
LabelsFirebox, Inverse
Associated actsCryptal Darkness, Mortification, Dreadnaught, Damaged, Order of Chaos, Black Majesty, Catwitch, Earth, The Veil, InSomnius Dei, Desolate Eternity, Paramaecium, Subterranean Disposition, Humonic, The Plague Black, Desecrator, Internal Nightmare
MembersDave Langlands, Mark Kelson, Ando McDougall, Richie Poate
Past membersChris Stevenson, Terry Vainoras, James O'Toole, Lincoln Bowen, James Hunt, Chris Burton, Ryan Buesnel, Paul Tipping, Brad Cook, Marty O'Shea

Band members

  • Current line-up
    • Dave Langlands (bass)
    • Mark Kelson (vocals, guitar)
    • Ando McDougall (drums)
    • Richie Poate (guitar)
  • Former members
    • Marty O'Shea (drums) 2007 - 2019
    • Brad Cook (guitar) 2011 - 2018
    • Chris Stevenson (keys) 2002 - 2009
    • Terry Vainoras (guitar) 2007 - 2009
    • James O'Toole (bass) 2006 - 2007
    • Lincoln Bowen (guitar) 2005 - 2006
    • James Hunt (bass) 2003 - 2006
    • Chris Burton (guitar) 2002 - 2004
    • Ryan Buesnel (drums) 2002 - 2004
    • Paul Tipping (bass) 2002 - 2003

Band information

The Eternal is a Goth metal band that grew out of Cryptal Darkness. The Eternal began work on their debut album in November 2003 for release through Finnish label Firebox. Just prior to this, bassist Paul Tipping was replaced by James Hunt.

The Sombre Light of Isolation features guest vocals from Darren White (ex-Anathema, The Blood Divine). Guitarist Chris Burton left The Eternal shortly after the album's release and was temporarily replaced by Matt Castles, formerly of Ne Plus Ultra, for shows in Europe and Hong Kong. Upon the band's return to Australia, drummer Ryan Buesnel then left The Eternal.

In early 2005, it was announced that drummer Marty O'Shea and former Mortification guitarist Lincoln Bowen had joined The Eternal. The band then completed a second album that was released worldwide in late 2005 although distribution and contractual difficulties meant it wasn’t issued in Australia until well into 2006. In March 2006 The Eternal supported H.I.M. in Sydney and Melbourne and then opened for Opeth two weeks later before a short national tour in June. Terry Vainoras replaced Bowen and Hunt was replaced by James O’Toole in 2006. Their third album Kartika was completed during 2008 and featured contributions from Duncan Patterson of Anathema. It was released on November 8. Touring in Australia and Japan was followed by US and European dates until well into 2009, playing with artists like Anathema and Tarja Turnunen. In June 2009 The Eternal opened for The 69 Eyes in Melbourne. Chris Stevenson departed the group in early 2009. Soon after, the band began recording their fourth album with Maria Ilmoniemi of Tarja Turnunen's band on keyboards. Under a New Sun was produced by Jeff Martin of The Tea Party. A tour of Australia, New Zealand and Japan kicked off in early February 2011 but after the first show Marty O'Shea broke his hand, leaving him unable to play. Early drummer Ryan Buesnel replaced him for the tour. In May 2011 they went on the road again, this time as the support for Jeff Martin 777.

Brad Cook joined on guitar during 2011 and The Eternal began recording a new album, with Kelson producing. In October 2013 the band toured nationally with Amorphis. My Dying Bride's Martin Powell worked on the next two studio albums; Richie Poate of Dreadnaught replaced Cook in 2018 and following Waiting for the Endless Dawn O'Shea's place was taken by Ando McDougall.



2004 The Sombre Light of Isolation Firebox
2005 Sleep of Reason Firebox
2008 Kartika Firebox
2010 Live at the East Brunswick Club Independent
2011 Under a New Sun Independent
2015 When the Circle of Light Begins to Fade Audio Cave
2015 Circle of Live Independent
2015 Waiting for the Endless Dawn Inverse


2005 Sombre Visions Independent
2006 A Fleeting Glance Firebox