From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginLaunceston, TAS
GenresHeavy metal, Thrash metal, rock
Years active1992 – present
LabelsIndependent, Dark Carnival, BlahBlahBlah, Amphead, Deported
Associated actsDiscordia, Alarum, The Berzerker, Atomizer, Cemetery Urn, Fridge, Damage Factor, King Parrot, The Eternal, Desecrator, Harlott, Trigger
MembersAndo McDougall, Marty O'Shea, Richie Poate, Greg Trull, Scott Anning, Tim Joyce
Past membersDamon Alcock, Matt Racovalis, Sandy Bettenay, Aaren "Sudz" Suttill, Andrew "Squiz" Livingtone-Squires

Band members

  • Current line-up
    • Greg Trull (vocals)
    • Richie Poate (guitar, keys)
    • Ando McDougall (bass)
    • Scott Anning (guitar)
    • Tim Joyce (drums)
  • Former members
    • Damon Alcock (guitar) 1992 - 2016
    • Marty O'Shea (drums) 2013 - 2019
    • Matt Racovalis (drums) 2008 - 2012
    • Sandy Bettenay (drums) 2004 - 2008
    • Suds (Aaren Suttill) (drums) 1992 - 2004 (d. 27/12/06)
    • Squiz (Andrew Livingstone-Squires) (bass) 1992 - 2000

Band members

Dreadnaught formed in Launceston in 1992 where Greg Trull and Squiz had formerly been involved with Fridge. The band moved to Melbourne shortly after formation and released Flowers as a single on cassette through Subversive Records in 1995. Trull was also singing for Discordia, a band he continued to front concurrently until 1997. ' In 1996 Body.Blood.Skin.Mind appeared. After the album's release however, Dreadnaught struck difficulty, firstly with the label, with whom the band wasn't happy, and secondly with the spelling of its name. In attempting to register the name "Dreadnought", the band learned that a Queensland-based finance company had the name already trademarked. To avoid a wholesale name change, "Dreadnought" became "Dreadnaught"; the band successfully sued their label Deported and the album was re-released by BlahBlahBlah in late 1997 in time for Dreadnaught to replace Superheist at that year's Metal for the Brain festival.

In mid-1998 Idiosyncrasy was released. Around the same time, Suds formed Atomizer. Supports to Cathedral and Pitchshifter and then a national tour with Nevermore in 1999 were followed up by a third Metal for the Brain appearance and a signing to Dark Carnival Records for the mid-2000 release, Down to Zero.

Late in 2000, Squiz was replaced by Ando McDougall, although most of the bass parts on One Piece Missing were played by Michael Meagher. A joint tour with Frankenbok in June 2001 was followed late in the year by shows with Devin Townsend and Nickelback and a fifth Metal for the Brain showing.

Dreadnaught began work on a new album in mid-2004 but almost immediately Sudz announced his departure to concentrate on Atomizer. Sandy Bettenay joined the band shortly afterward and Dirty Music was released in late 2005. Sudz committed suicide on December 27, 2006.

Late in 2006, Dirty Music was re-released as a double album featuring tracks from all previous releases and Dreadnaught toured with Testament in February 2007. In early 2008, Bettenay was replaced by former Alarum drummer Matt Racovalis. In April 2009, Dreadnaught released their self-titled album. After a national tour in August and September, the band played shows in Japan. During the year the band's label dissolved leaving the album without any support.

In 2012, Racovalis left Dreadnaught. Mick Morley from Frankenbok played live with the band for a short time until Marty O'Shea (The Eternal) joined the band. Dreadnaught continued to perform and tour regularly but the next album Caught the Vultures Sleeping didn't appear until 2016, following a crowd-funding campaign. Damon Alcock was replaced by former Desecrator guitarist Scott Anning after this and Tim Joyce from Trigger became Dreadnaught's drummer in 2017. Richie Poate and Ando McDougall have been involved with The Eternal since 2017.



1996 Body.Blood.Skin.Mind Deported
2000 Down to Zero Dark Carnival
2005 Dirty Music Roadrunner
2009 Dreadnaught Amphead
2016 Caught the Vultures Sleeping Independent


1995 Flowers Subversive


1998 Idiosyncrasy self release
2001 One Piece Missing Dark Carnival