From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Background information
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresBlack metal, thrash metal
Years active1998 - 2008
LabelsEnd All Life, Hell's Headbangers, Drakkar
Associated actsDreadnaught, Hellspawn, Astriaal, Carbon, Urgrund, Infernal Method, Earth, Sithlord, Witchripper, Psi.Kore, Daysend, Darkest Dawn, Daemon Pyre
Past membersJason Healey, Sudz, Justin Allen, Jay Young, Jason Saunders, Rick Withoos, Andrew Lilley, Brent Hodgkins, Gryphon

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Jason Healey (bass, vocals)
    • Suds (Aaren Suttil) (drums) d. 27/12/06
  • Former members
    • Andrew Lilley (guitar) 2004
    • Brent Hodgkins (guitar) 2003 - 2004
    • Rick Withoos (guitar) 2003 - 2004
    • Jason Saunders (guitar) 2002 - 2003
    • Jay Young (guitar) 2002 - 2003
    • Justin Allen (guitar) 1998 - 2001

Band information

Atomizer was a black/thrash band from Melbourne that was formed in July 1998 by Jason Healey and Dreadnaught drummer Suds. With Hellspawn's Justin Allen on guitar the band recorded a demo shortly afterwards and the band began playing live in August 1999.

In 2000, Atomizer's first album The End of Forever was released by French label End All Life in a limited vinyl edition of 666 before appearing locally on the Devil's Own label. The End of Forever was re-released as The Death of Forever in 2004 by Agonia Records, with extra tracks. Late in the year, Atomizer featured at Metal for the Brain and toured New Zealand.

Gimme Natural Selection was released in 2001. This was followed by the release of the second album Death Mutation Disease Annihilation on vinyl in April 2002. Allen was no longer in Atomizer by now and his place had been filled by Sithlord guitarist Jason Saunders. The album was released on CD in September; Atomizer then toured New Zealand once more before taking on Jay Young as second guitarist and supporting Destruction in Melbourne. In early 2003 the band toured nationally with Pungent Stench before releasing two more limited 7" vinyl issues. And the Hunt Starts Again was a split single release with Czech band Root and Tyrus: The Doom War of the Armoured Angel featured covers of songs by Australian bands Tyrus, Armoured Angel and WAR.

The Only Weapon of Choice - 13 Odes to Power, Decimation and Conquest was released by Agonia Records in late 2003. By now Atomizer's guitar team was made up of Rick Withoos and Brent Hodgkins. This line-up played at Metal for the Brain; Withoos' stay was short and by May 2004 he had been replaced by Andrew Lilley. The band was set to tour Europe and Japan in late 2004 but the tour was blown out at the last minute. Healey went to Europe late in the year anyway and recorded a track with Pungent Stench for future release.

Atomizer remained as a duo of Healey and Suds from this point. Further re-issues on picture vinyl appeared throughout 2006 and there was plans for further recording in 2007; however, Suds died on December 27, 2006.

In 2007 Healey completed the recording of the final Atomizer album enlisting Gryphon of Astriaal on drums. This final album, Caustic Music For the Spiritually Bankrupt, featured guest performances from Iscariah (ex-Immortal) and Yasuyuki (Abigail, Barbatos), and was released by Hells Headbanger Records in late 2008. After this, it was announced that Atomizer was no more.



2000 The End of Forever End All Life
2002 Death-Mutation-Disease-Annihilation Drakkar
2003 The Only Weapon of Choice - 13 Odes to Power, Decimation and Conquest Lycanthropic Fervour
2008 Caustic Music for the Spiritually Bankrupt Hell's Headbangers


2001 Gimme Natural Selection Nihilist Void
2003 Tyrus: The Doom War of the Armoured Angel Soulseller
2004 Songs of Slaughter-Songs of Sacrifice Hell's Headbangers


2003 And the Hunt Starts Again (split with Root) AJNA Offensive