From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresThrash metal, Groove metal, Hard rock, Nu-metal, metalcore
Years active1997 - present
LabelsFaultline, Roadrunner, Prime Cuts
Associated actsFive Star Prison Cell, Repugnance, Embodied, Heaven the Axe, Scar the Surface, Manticore, Armoured Earth, House of Thumbs, Terrorust
MembersAaron Butler, Dan McDougall, Owen Spratling, Tom Rossell
Past membersDanny Freeman, Reiki Barbosa, Tim Miedecke, Dan White, Steve Watts, Mick Morley, Nathan Amatnieks, Adam Glynn, Adam B Metal, Scott Lang

Band members

  • Current line-up
    • Dan McDougall (vocals)
    • Azza Bok (Aaron Butler) (guitar)
    • Tom Rossell (drums)
    • Owen Spratling (bass)
  • Former members
    • Danny Freeman (bass) 2017 - 2019
    • Reiki Barbosa (guitar) 2016 - 2019
    • Dan White (vocals) 2015 - 2018
    • Steve Watts (guitar) 2015 - 2016
    • Tim Miedecke (bass, synth) 1998 - 2017
    • Mick Morley (drums) 2000 - 2015
    • Dan McDougall (vocals) 2007 - 2015
    • Nathan "Yeti" Amatnieks (guitar) 2006 - 2015
    • John Sankey (drums) 2003 (live)
    • Adam B Metal (vocals) 2003 - 2007
    • Scott Lang (guitar) 1998 - 2006
    • Adam Glynn (vocals) 1997 - 2002

Band information

Frankenbok was originally formed as an experimental duo in Melbourne by Aaron Butler and Adam Glynn. With Scott Lang and Tim Miedecke the band began to play live with a drum machine in 1998 and the first album was already recorded before drummer Mick Morley joined. Shortly after Greetings and Salutations was released, Frankenbok toured with Skinlab in May 2000 and played at Metal for the Brain. Shortly thereafter, the band signed with Dark Carnival. The 2001 EP release included of a cover of Madison Avenue's "Don't Call Me Baby" that got them considerable airplay on Triple J.

In mid-2001 Frankenbok embarked on a six-week national tour with label mates Dreadnaught, followed by four shows with Slayer and Machine Head in August. In early 2002 the debut album was re-released by Dark Carnival with a bonus live disc recorded in Sydney, and the band toured with Psi.Kore, supported System Of A Down and appeared at the Overcranked Festival. In November 2002 with a date for the recording of the follow-up album set, Glynn suddenly announced he had quit the band. He was replaced by Adam B. Metal in January 2003 and the metalcore-styled Blood Oath was released soon after. Glynn formed Five Star Prison Cell in 2004. Morley suffered an injury in early 2003 and John Sankey from Devolved filled in for him for live commitments including national tours with Skinlab and Soilwork.

In mid-2004, the band toured extensively with Sunk Loto and 8 Foot Sativa and played at Metal for the Brain in Canberra and Brisbane in 2005. After this, the band began to write and record its next album, Murder of Songs without Lang, who departed to live and work in Asia. He was replaced by Nathan Amatnieks in 2007. In early 2007, Adam B. Metal split from Frankenbok and was replaced by former Repugnance vocalist Dan McDougall. The album saw the band developing a groove metal style and was released by Prime Cuts in August 2007. In April the next year, Frankenbok released The Last Ditch Redemption, the first recording with McDougall and Amatnieks and began a heavy touring schedule that saw them play throughout most of Australia and into New Zealand.

The band opened for Exodus in Melbourne in October 2010; their fourth album was released in late 2011 and the band continued to tour tirelessly throughout the Australian east coast. A split with King Parrot featuring the track "Genetic Lego" was released in 2012 and the 2013 release featured six new tracks and four live cuts. A live DVD followed shortly after. Aaron Butler and Tim Miedecke joined Heaven the Axe in 2014 and in early 2015, Amatnieks and McDougall both left Frankenbok. They were replaced by Steve Watts (Heaven the Axe) and Dan White from Scar the Surface. Mick Morley announced his departure in late 2015. Morley was replaced by Tom Rossell from House of Thumbs; Watts stay was short. Vicious, Lawless was recorded in 2016 with Miedecke and Reiki Barbosa adding guitar parts and Barbosa continued as the band's live guitarist. The album arrived in mid-2017.

Tim Miedecke departed Frankenbok in 2017 and McDougall rejoined in place of White the following year. In 2019 recording began on Frankenbok's seventh album. Overdose was released on February 11, 2022.



2000 Greetings and Salutations Faultline
2003 Blood Oath Dark Carnival
2007 Murder of Songs Prime Cuts
2011 The End of All You Know Independent
2013 Cheers, Beers and Beards! Independent
2017 Vicious, Lawless Independent
2022 Overdose Independent


2001 The Loopholes and Great Excuses EP Dark Carnival
2008 The Last Ditch Redemption Prime Cuts


2012 Split with King Parrot Von Grimm


2013 Home is Where the Stage Is self release