Heaven the Axe

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Heaven the Axe
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresHard rock, heavy metal
Years active2007 – present
Associated actsManticore, Abramelin, Damaged, House of Thumbs, Frankenbok, Broozer, Rotten Chop, The Berzerker
MembersAzza Bok, Tim Miedecke, Phoebe Pinnock, Aramis Pitrinec, Trav Price, Matt Silcock, Steve Watts
Past memberssee left

Band members

  • Current Line-up
    • Azza Bok (Aaron Butler) (guitar)
    • Tim Miedecke (bass)
    • Phoebe Pinnock (vocals, guitar)
    • Trav Price (bass)
    • Tom Rossell (drums)
    • Matt Skitz (drums)
    • Steve Watts (guitar)
  • Former members
    • Aramis Pitrinec (drums)
    • Ed Lacey (guitar) 2014
    • Matt Silcock (bass) 2010 - 2014
    • Nik Rackham (guitar)
    • Tim Aldridge (bass) 2010 - 2011
    • Retch Bile (bass) 2009
    • Paolo Celli (bass) 2009
    • Nick Williams (bass) 2009
    • Jason Holt (bass)
    • Adam Savino (drums)

Band information

Heaven the Axe began as a duo of Phoebe Pinnock and Steve Watts (ex-Manticore) in Wagga Wagga. After the couple moved to Melbourne they began building a complete band, developing the sound with Matt Skitz (Damaged) and Nick Williams (Rotten Chop). Recruiting live members Paolo Celli and Retch Bile (Broozer) they played their first show at Noise Bar in Brunswick in October 2009. The band did a series of fund raising efforts in 2010 raising a substantial amount for victims of child sex slavery in Nepal. Celli and Bile left and House of Thumbs drummer Tom Rossell and former Damaged guitarist Matt Silcock replaced them the same evening. Abramelin's Tim Aldridge also joined on bass. Heaven the Axe played the Sydney Entertainment Centre in a televised performance which led to their booking at the Street Machine Summernats Festival in Canberra in 2011. They have since appeared there in 2012 and 2014.

The band developed a community mindset to accommodate touring and embraced interchangeable drummers. Aramis Pitrinec (Strict Vincent) signed on in 2011 and shared the rold with Rossell and Skitz. After the band recorded Sex, Chugs and Rock & Roll Aldridge left and was replaced by Trav Price. During November 2011 the band did a run through Victoria with Rose Tattoo. The band toured throughout 2012 and co-ordinated a flood relief event in Wagga Wagga that raised $50,000. During 2013 Heaven the Axe teamed with Frankenbok, Dreadnaught, Abreact and King Parrot to tour regional areas in a blind draw line up called Regional Roulette. Their single 'Good Things Come to Those Who Hate' featured vocals by Skitz, Dan McDougall (Frankenbok) and Matt Young of King Parrot and a guitar solo by Richie Poate from Dreadnaught. After Summernats 2014, Matt Silcock left and Eddie Lacey (The Berzerker) joined. Their music has appeared on Housos, Housos vs. Authority: The Movie and telecasts of the V8 Supercars seasons. Heaven the Axe wrote the theme song from the TV show Bogan Hunters with a clip that featured members of Frankenbok. Azza Bok and Tim Miedecke from that band both joined Heaven the Axe in 2014 and Steve Watts joined Frankenbok in early 2015. Heaven the Axe supported Sebastian Bach in September 2015.



2011 Sex, Chugs and Rock n Roll self release


2013 Good Things Come to Those Who Hate self release
2014 Bogan Hunters self release