Virgin Black

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Virgin Black
OriginAdelaide, NSW
GenresGoth metal, doom, symphonic metal
Years active1993 - present
Associated actsChalice, Black Orchid, Discarnated
MembersCraig Edis, Matt Enright, Samantha Escarbe, Rowan London, David Mason
Past membersGrayh, Luke Faz, Ian MIller, Craig Edis, Dino Cielo, Aaron Nicholls, Graham Billing, Brad Bessell, Kelvin Sugars, Daniel Bushby

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • Rowan London (vocals, keys)
    • Samantha Escarbe (guitar)
    • David Mason (guitar)
    • Matt Enright (drums)
    • Craig Edis (bass)
  • Former Members
    • Grayh (bass)
    • Luke Faz (drums)
    • Ian Miller (bass) (1998 - 2005)
    • Dino Cielo (drums) (1995 - 2005)
    • Aaron Nicholls (bass) (1997 - 1998)
    • Graham Billing (bass) (1995 - 1996)
    • Brad Bessell (bass) (1993 - 1995)
    • Kelvin Sugars (drums) (1993 - 1995)
    • Daniel Bushby (drums) (1993)

Band Information

Adelaide's Virgin Black display an epic mastery of the Gothic doom style, creating superbly dark, melancholy music. Virgin Black has a distinctive approach that makes them unique, with a real passion in Escarbe's playing and London's vocals that is rarely found elsewehere. The band formed in 1993 with a line-up of Escarbe, London, guitarist Craig Edis, Brad Besell (bass) and Daniel Bushby (drums). Bushby was replaced by Kelvin Sugars from Discarnated. He was in turn replaced by Dino Cielo. In 1995 the group then released a four track self-titled demo. Three tracks soon found themselves added to the Rowe Productions compilation album Falling on Deaf Ears.

Bessell was replaced by Graham Billing and he by Aaron Nicholls and in 1998 the group released the EP "Trance" which further defined their Goth intentions. Following this Virgin Black began work on the album Sombre Romantic. Towards the end of the sessions, Ian Miller replaced Nicholls. The album was released in a short-run edition by Melbourne's Crestfallen Records before finding issue worldwide through Massacre and The End Records.

After completing work on a third album, Virgin Black played Germany in mid-2003 and toured the US with Agalloch. A national tour late in the year, was followed by an appearance at Metal for the Brain and the release of Elegant... and Dying. In early 2004, the band played shows with Opeth and then toured nationally with Nazxul. After this Virgin Black began work on the ambitious three-album Requiem project.

Written and performed primarily by Escarbe and London, with contributions by the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, the work took two years to complete. Announced in early 2006 as a simultaneous issue for later that year, it was instead held over until 2007. Requiem - Mezzo Forte, the second album of the trilogy, was released first, in April shortly after Virgin Black's new line-up debuted live (with guest Mark Kelson on guitar) on a tour with Arcturus.

Requiem - Mezzo Forte tied with The Fourth Season by Vanishing Point on the Full Metal Racket listener's poll, when it was voted #6 metal release for 2007. Requiem - Fortissimo was released in February 2008 and Virgin Black toured the US with Amorphis, Leaves' Eyes and Samael in September 2008. While Escarbe and London remain the band's only permanent members, the current touring line-up is filled out by Matt Enright from Black Orchid, former member Craig Edis on bass and guitarist David Mason.



2001 Sombre Romantic Crestfallen
2003 Elegant... and Dying The End
2007 Requiem - Mezzo Forte The End
2008 Requiem - Fortissimo The End


1998 Trance self release

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
1996 "Veil of Tears"; "Mother of Cripples"; "Anthem" Falling on Deaf Ears Rowe
2006 "And the Kiss of God's Mouth Pt. 2" Oz Mosh 2005 Soundmass