From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginAdelaide, NSW
GenresGoth metal
Years active1996 - 2007
LabelsModern Invasion
Associated actsBlack Orchid, Esoteric, Fury, Truth Corroded, Mournful Congregation, Virgin Black, Intellect Devourer, The Harrowed, Tzun Tzu, Pantheist, Sarsekim
Past membersAdrian Bickle, Mark Bodassian, Matt Enright, Sean Graetz, Justin Hartwig, Simon Henderson, Darren McLennan, Shiralee Morgan, Alannah Probert, Russell

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Shiralee Morgan (vocals, keys)
    • Matt Enright (drums)
    • Sean Graetz (guitar)
    • Justin Hartwig (guitar)
    • Simon Henderson (bass)
  • Former members
    • Alannah Probert (flute) (2000 - 2006)
    • Adrian Bickle (drums) (1996 - 2005)
    • Mark Boddassian (bass) (1996 - 2002)
    • Darren McLennan (guitar) (1996 - 1998)
    • Russell (violin) (1996 - 1998)

Band information

Chalice 2007

Shiralee Morgan and drummer Adrian Bickle formed the band originally as Jeneaha in late 1996. After the recording of a demo, Jeneaha split; the pair changed the band name to Chalice. Chronicles of Dysphoria was recorded and released in 1998 after which Chalice underwent a major line-up change with violinist Russell splitting and guitarist Darren McLennan also leaving to concentrate on his other band, Fury. Hartwig joined as McLennan's replacement and classically-trained flautist Alannah Probert joined Chalice in early 2000.

Upon signing to Modern Invasion in early 2000, Chronicles... was re-recorded with a slight rearrangement of the track-listing and released with different artwork. Chalice issued their second album in October 2001 to coincide with their appearance at Metal for the Brain and with Henderson replacing Mark Boddassian on bass in early 2002 undertook an east coast tour. Chalice supported Mayhem and Opeth in 2003 and late in the year the band's third album was released. Mark Boddassian later joined UK doom band Esoteric and was for a brief time in Pantheist from Belgium.

Bickle was replaced by Matt Enright in 2005 and the same year the band visited New Zealand. In mid-2006, the band completed a new EP featuring Adelaide's Zephyr Quartet before parting ways with Probert ahead of its release.

After almost a year of virtual inactivity, Chalice disbanded acrimoniously in June 2007, with the majority of the group announcing it had split from Morgan to form a new group called Black Orchid.



1998 Chronicles of Dysphoria self release
2000 Chronicles of Dysphoria Modern Invasion
2001 An Illusion to the Temporary Real Modern Invasion
2003 Augmented Modern Invasion


2006 The Calm That Was the Storm Modern Invasion

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
1999 "Solitary Waves" Blackend Blackend
2002 "An Illusion to the Temporary Real" Full Metal Racket 2 ABC/EMI