Mournful Congregation

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Mournful Congregation
OriginAdelaide, SA
GenresDoom metal
Years active1993 - present
LabelsWeird Truth
Associated actsStarGazer, Chalice, Esoteric, Portal, Misery's Omen, Martire, Intellect Devourer, Fury, Truth Corroded, Stone Wings, Elysium, Decayed Divinity, Roadside Burial
MembersAdrian Bickle, Damon Good, Justin Hartwig, Stuart Prickett
Past membersDenny Blake, Mark Boddasian, Sean Graetz, Darren McLennan, Bem Petch

Band Members

  • Current line-Up
    • Adrian Bickle (drums)
    • Damon Good (vocals, guitar)
    • Justin Hartwig (guitar)
    • Ben Newsome (bass)
    • Stuart Prickett (guitar)
  • Former members
    • Sean Graetz (guitar)
    • Ben Petch (guitar)
    • Darren McLennan (guitar)
    • Mark Boddasian (bass)
    • Denny Blake (drums)

Band Information

Extreme doom comes from this obscure Adelaide band whose origins go back to 1993. Membership has shifted between three members and one at various times. Good (of StarGazer) is the founder and principal songwriter, with other contributors at various times having come from Fury guitarist Darren McLennan and mark Boddasian of Chalice and Esoteric.

The 2002 full length album is a double CD release featuring remastered demo material and spans over two hours of music. To support the 2009 release, the band played its first ever live show in February 2009, then undertook a short east coast tour with a reformed Misery in March before embarking on an extensive tour in Europe. Stuart Prickett from various Sydney bands joined the line-up for their appearance at Evil Invaders in 2012 ahead of shows in the US and a national tour with Chile's Procession in September. The Unspoken Hymns is a compilation of tracks previously only released on vinyl.



2002 The Dawning of Mournful Hymns Weird Truth
2005 The Monad of Creation Weird Truth
2009 The June Frost Weird Truth
2011 The Unspoken Hymns 20 Buck Spin
2011 The Book of Kings Weird Truth


2002 The Epitome of Gods and Men Alike (split with Worship) Painiac
2004 A Slow March to the Burial (split with Stabat Mater) Painiac
2007 Split with Stone Wings Ostra
2008 Four Burials (split with Otesanek, Loss and Orthodox) Battle Command