From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginAdelaide, SA
GenresDeath metal
Years active1995 - present
LabelsDecius, Dissident, Dies Irae, Weird Truth, Agonis
Associated actsMournful Congregation, Portal, Intellect Devourer, Misery's Omen, Oni, Beyond Mortal Dreams, Zemial, Deluge, Juggermath
MembersThe Great Righteous Destroyer, The Serpent Inquisitor
Past membersSelenium, Phoenxi Chrysalis, Paul Murphy

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • The Serpent Inquisitor (Denny Blake) (vocals, guitar)
    • The Great Righteous Destroyer (Damon Good) (vocals, bass)
    • Selenium (Selen Gol) (drums)
  • Former Members
    • Phoenix Chrysalis (Matthew Butt) (drums) (1998 - 2000)
    • Paul Murphy (vocals, drums) (1995 - 1998)

Band Information

StarGazer plays a form of black/death metal band with some avant-garde and Eastern touches and arcane lyrical bent, not to mention truly insane drum work, particularly on the later split EP release. StarGazer formed in 1995 and early on recorded a 7" EP with Paul Murphy on drums.

After this Phoenix Chrysalis moved into the drum position. In 1999 StarGazer announced a deal with Dies Irae Productions in Singapore. A split EP with Brisbane's Invocation was released in 2000. Chrysalis left the band in 2000 and StarGazer went into hiatus with both remaining members featuring prominently in several other bands including Martire, Misery's Omen, Intellect Devourer and Mournful Congregation, however during this time the track “Magikkian” was issued as a split release with US death metal band Arghoslent and appeared on the Terror Australis compilation cassette.

The Great Righteous Destroyer toured Europe as Zemial's bass player in December 2001. StarGazer returned to live performance in mid-2003 when they toured nationally with US death metal band Nunslaughter. In mid-2006 StarGazer headed to Japan for a handful of shows and in early 2007 they supported Suffocation. Both Blake and Good have also been members of Portal.



2005 The Scream That Tore the Sky Agonis
2006 Occidentale Magick Weird Truth


1997 Borne self release


1999 Harbringer (split with Invocation) Dies Irae
2001 Split with Arghoslent Hellflame

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
2001 "Magikkian" Terror Australis: Southern Attack Plague
2003 "Magikkian" Barbaric Onslaught: Australian Metal Attack Decius
2003 "Magikkian" Amassing the Hordes Dissident
2004 "The 69th Maggot" Legions: Opening of the Southern Gate Blacktalon Media