From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginAdelaide, SA
GenresDeath metal
Years active1986 - 2012
LabelsNuclear War Now!, Merciless, Dominator
Associated actsMournful Congregation, Portal, Oni, Tzun Tzu, StarGazer, Slaughter Thou, Zemial, Cauldron Black Ram, Misery's Omen, Orgy of Pigs
Past membersVince Feleppa, Don Taylor, Dave Hopgood, Frank Usimiami, Tony Vlav, The Great Righteous Destroyer, The Serpent Inquisitor

Band Members

  • Former Members
    • Vince Feleppa (vocals, guitar) 1986 -
    • Don Taylor (guitar) 1995 -
    • The Serpent Inquisitor (Denny Blake) (drums) 1995 -
    • The Great Righteous Destroyer (Damon Good) (bass) 1995 -
    • Dave Hopgood (drums) 1989 - 1992
    • Frank Usmani (bass) 1986 - 1992
    • Tony Vlav (guitar) 1986 - 1992
    • Luch Sordillo (drums) 1986 - 1989

Band Information

Martire was an Adelaide death metal band, formed in 1986 by Vince Feleppa, Frank Usmani, Tony Vlav and Luch Sordillo. Dave Hopgood replaced Sordillo and in 1991 the band recorded an EP collecting songs from earlier demos. The band supported Morbid Angel in 1992 and after this ground to a halt.

Don Taylor joined in 1995 and Feleppa resurrected the band, bringing in The Serpent Inquisitor and The Great Righteous Destroyer from StarGazer to complete the line-up. The band released a split 7" with Angelcorpse in 1999 and German label Merciless released another 7" EP in May 2001. A split with Polish band Throneum was issued in 2004, featuring some tracks originally recorded for a long-promised full length. That album, Brutal Legions of the Apocalypse was finally completed and released in 2012.



2012 Brutal Legions of the Apocalypse Nuclear War Now!


1991 Martire Dominator


2001 Lucifer Merciless


1999 Split with Angelcorpse Independent
2004 United in Hell (split with Throneum) Apocalyptor