From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Also known asThe Harrowed
OriginBroken Hill, NSW
GenresThrash metal
Years active1993 - 2007
Associated actsSerenity Defiled, Sarsekim, The Harrowed, Acid, Bloodlust, Truth Corroded, Intellect Devourer, Chalice, Blackened Angel
Past membersDerek Beauchamp, Rick Boon, Steve Commachio, Aaron Dewsberry, Ben Hall, Darren McLennan, Mick O'Neil, Rick Vozzo, Daniel Wall

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Darren McLennan (guitar)
    • Rick Boon (guitar)
    • Mick O'Neil (vocals)
    • Rick Vozzo (drums)
    • Daniel Wall (bass)
  • Former members
    • Steve Comacchio (bass) (1998 - 2004)
    • Derek Beauchamp (drums) (1998 - 2002)
    • Ben Hall (drums) (1994 - 1998)
    • Aaron Dewsberry (bass) (1994 - 1998)

Band information

Starting life in Broken Hill in 1993, Fury was a classic style power metal band that has since changed its sound to something akin to that of Megadeth. A demo was recorded as a duo of Boon and McLennan with Lord Tim from Dungeon adding bass tracks and vocals. Shortly afterwards the line up was completed with the addition of former Acid and Bloodlust member O'Neil on vocals and Aaron Dewsberry on bass, with Ben Hall on drums.

Consolidating the line-up, Fury recorded a self-titled EP and in mid-1998 moved base to Adelaide, where they swiftly found the services of a permanent drummer in the shape of Derek Beauchamp. Dewsberry moved back to Broken Hill late in the year and Comacchio joined the line-up. McLennan also played guitar for Chalice and Intellect Devourer for a short time.

Fury were regular contributor to US label Dwell Records' Tribute series and a second album was released in 2001. Beauchamp left the band at the end of 2002. Rick Vozzo was finally found to fill the drumming position in August 2003 and a few months later the band re-released Slavekind. Vozzo’s first recording with the band was an EP of covers of classic metal tracks.

Comacchio was let go in mid-2004. Work began on a third album that was completed in 2005, with McLennan playing bass. Daniel Hall joined the band on bass in 2005. The band stopped playing live due to O’Neil no longer being a full-time member. Forbidden Art was released in late 2006 and the band picked up a deal with Massacre Records. Fury announced a name change to The Harrowed in late 2007.



1997 Fury Nu-Town
2000 Stigmatized self release
2001 Slavekind self release
2005 Blood, Sweat and Iron self release
2006 Forbidden Art self release

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
1998 "Bleeding Me Dry" Launchpad Vol. 1 Springbored
1998 "Fuck You" Worldwide Metal Inquisition SMI
1999 "Symphony of Destruction" Megaded - A Tribute to Megadeth Dwell
1999 "Sacred Serenity" Demonic Plague - A Tribute to Death Dwell
2000 "Torpor" Down Underground 3 NNN
2000 "Waiting" Church of the Devil - A Tribute to King Diamond Dwell
2000 "Dog Faced Gods" Jump in the Pit - A Tribute to Testament Dwell
2000 "Trip at the Brain" Suicide in Venice - A Tribute to Suicidal Tendencies Dwell