From AusMetal Guide
Revision as of 03:37, 28 August 2013 by Goreripper (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginBrisbane QLD
GenresBlack metal
Years active1998 - present
LabelsBaphomet, Decius, Invictus, Bleed, Spikekult
Associated actsAstriaal, Damaged, Baalberith, Cemetery Urn, Insidious Torture, Terrorust, Walk the Earth, Abominator, Denouncement Pyre, Forn Valdyrheim, Earth
MembersRob Scavenger, Matt Skitz
Past membersAD Barathrum, Mike Possessed, Matt Skitz,Thoth Amon, Eigi-ein-hamr, Fiendsickness, Gryphon, Miasmr, Necrovore, Sparticus Stöve, Vagrant, Criss Volcano

Band members

  • Final Line-up
    • Rob Scavenger (vocals, guitar)
    • Mike Possessed (guitar)
    • AD Barathrum (bass)
    • Matt Skitz (drums)
  • Former members
    • Necrovore (bass)
    • Criss Volcano (drums) (2003 - 2008)
    • Miasmr (guitar) (2003 - 2004)
    • Vagrant (bass) (2003 - 2004)
    • Eigi-ein-hamr (2002 - 2003)
    • Gryphon (drums) (2000 - 2001, 2002)
    • Thoth Amon (drums) (2002)
    • Sparticus Stöve (bass) (2002)
    • Fiendsickness (guitar) (2000 - 2002)




Brisbane, QLD, 1998

Band information

Urgrund is a thrashing black metal band that was formed in 1998 in Brisbane by Scavenger (as Bolthorn) as a continuation of his previous outfit Baalberith. Gryphon from Astriaal was drummer on the "Warlore" release and some tracks on "Drenched in Blood" and Necrovore was the featured bass player. Fiendsickness later joined the band on second guitar and Gryphon was replaced by Thoth Amon; however by early 2002 the original three piece band was back together.

The band moved to Melbourne in 2003 and a completely new line-up featuring Criss from Abominator and Denouncement Pyre, Miasmr from Forn Valdyrheim on guitar and Vagrant on bass came to be. Necrovore later rejoined as bass player and Mike Possessed replaced Miasmr. The album Disciples of Supremacy was released in 2007.

Urgrund's final live line-up comprised Bolthorn - now known as Rob Scavenger - plus Mike Possessed, Matt Skitz (Damaged, et. al.) and AD Barathrum (Sean from Earth) on bass. An EP "Heirs to the Godless Dawn", recorded in early 09 with Volcano on drums, and a vinyl version of the last album were due in 2010 and the band played shows in the US before Scavenger/Bolthorn relocated to Germany.



2002 The Graven Sign Baphomet
2005 Unchangeable Fate Baphomet
2007 Disciples of Supremacy Baphomet


2000 Warlore Bleed
2001 Drenched in Blood Spikekult
2004 Battleskin Invictus

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
2003 "On Stones Marked Black" Barbaric Onslaught: Australian Metal Attack Decius
2004 "Battleskin" Legions: Opening of the Southern Gate Blacktalon Media