Gospel of the Horns

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Gospel of the Horns
OriginBrisbane, QLD
GenresBlack metal, Thrash metal
Years active1993 - 2008, 2009 - present
LabelsInvictus, Morbid, Damnation
Associated actsDeströyer 666, Vomitor, Anatomy, Earth, Bestial Warlust, Spear of Longinus, Corpse Molestation, Trench Hell, Razor of Occam, Urgrund, Funerary Pit
MembersMark Howitzer, Markus Hellcunt, Chris Masochist
Past membersMarauder, Hexx, Obliterator, Warhammer, Hellbutcher, Transvaal D

Band members

  • Current line-up
    • Mark Howitzer (vocals, bass)
    • Chris Masochist (guitar)
    • Mersus (drums)
    • Matt Razor (session live guitar)

  • Former members
    • Ryan Marauder (guitar)
    • Hexx (guitar) (2004 - 2007)
    • Obliterator (drums) (1998 - 1999)
    • Warhammer (drums) (1997 - 1998)
    • Hellbutcher (guitar, bass) (1993 - 1996)
    • Transvaal D (vocals) (1993 - 1996)
    • Markus Hellcunt (drums) (1999 - 2012)

Band information

Gospel of the Horns formed in Brisbane in 1993 as Shane Transvaal D (vocals) and Hellbutcher (guitar, bass) with Howitzer on drums. In 1994 their "The Satanist's Dream" demo was issued on CD by Italian label Einstand Records, who botched the artwork so badly they put the wrong band's photo on the slick! The band split in 1996, with Hellbutcher (as SS Death Dealer) going on to join Spear of Longinus. Transvaal D recorded some backing vocals on the Bethlehem album S.u.i.z.i.d.

Howitzer moved to Melbourne, where he joined Deströyer 666 whilst seeking to reform Gospel of the Horns. Guitarist Marauder and drummer Warhammer were recruited and with Howitzer switching to bass and vocals recorded a new demo. Obliterator from Corpse Molestation and Razor of Occam then replaced Warhammer on the vinyl EP, "Monuments of Impurity". Former Bestial Warlust drummer Hellcunt then took over from Obliterator.

Gospel of the Horns released a new EP in 2000 that was followed by a European tour. After the tour the band added second guitarist Masochist (ex-Anatomy). Prior to appearing at Metal for the Brain in 2001, Gospel of the Horns recorded their debut full length album that was released by Ireland’s Invictus Records, and the band again toured Europe in mid-2002.

In 2002, the Call to Arms album was issued and GOTH undertook another European tour in early 2003. After returning, the band headlined the Bloodlust Festival in Sydney.

Marauder left in June 2005 and formed Funerary Pit with Skitz from Terrorust and Glenn from Destruktor. After a tour with Dismember, Marauder was replaced by Hexx of Urgrund and Carbon and the band began recording a second album while maintaining an occasional and popular live showing. In November 2006 the group played at the final Metal for the Brain festival.

The new album's appearance was mooted for 2007 but the band unexpectedly disbanded in January. Three weeks later, however, GOTH reformed with Marauder returning in place of Hexx, now of Trench Hell. Realm of the Damned was released in February. In mid-2007 Gospel of the Horns played in Europe once more. A handful of Australian shows followed their return and through June 2008 the band toured the US with Cemetery Urn.

In September, Hellcunt left the group to join Vomitor. In October 2008 Howitzer announced that Gospel of the Horns would be coming to an end, with their support slot with Sweden's Grave serving as the band's final show.

In mid-2009 the band regrouped to play a single gig in Sydney. Since then Gospel of the Horns has again reformed, with a new album and overseas festival shows booked.



2002 A Call to Arms Invictus
2007 Realm of the Damned Invictus
2012 Ceremonial Conjuration Invictus


1998 Monuments of Impurity Morbid
2000 Eve of the Conqueror Damnation

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
2001 "Absolute Power" Metal for the Brain 2001 Metal for the Brain/Chatterbox