Hatchet Dawn

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hatchet Dawn
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresSludge Metal, Gravecore
Years active2007 - 2013
Associated actsDiamond Noir, Coffin Carousel, Terrorust, The Symbiosist, Dialysis, The Implicate Order, A Million Dead Birds Laughing, Aphotic Dawn, Demonium
MembersBille-Jade, Howard 'Howsie' Noise
Past membersBert Cuzens, Ben Vengeance, Das Schmidt, Dman, Glenn Kollias, Justin Horne, Lee Kollias, Liam Martin, Loki, Shane Deville

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • Billie-Jade (vocals, bass guitar, piano)
    • Howard 'Howsie' Noise (guitars)
  • Former Members
    • Liam Martin (drums) 2013
    • Shane DeVille (Shane Turville) (live drums) 2011 - 2012
    • Daz Schmidt (guitar) 2010 - 2012
    • Bert Cuzens (vocals) 2010 - 2012
    • Dman (Dylan Meadows) (drums) 2009 - 2010
    • Ben Vengeance (Ben Boyle) (live guitar) 2009 - 2010
    • Loki (Adam Stewart) (vocals) 2007 - 2010
    • Justin Horne (bass) 2007 - 2008
    • Glenn Kollias (guitar) 2007 - 2008
    • Lee Kollias (drums) 2007 - 2008

Band Information

Hatchet Dawn is a heavy dark groove band from Melbourne playing a style that combines Rob Zombie-like sludge with furious groove riffs and vocals like a cross between Marilyn Manson and Rammstein. The band was conceived July 2007 by founding member and guitarist/producer Howard 'Howsie' Noise. Howsie was a member of Terrorust briefly during 2006 and also Melbourne band The Symbiosist.

Hatchet Dawn's initial 2007 lineup featured Adam "Loki" Stewart on vocals, Howsie Noise on guitars, Lee Kollias from Dialysis on drums, Justin Horne (also Dialysis) on bass and Glenn Kollias on guitars. This lineup recorded the five-track EP Faith in Chaos in 2007 but it remained un-released for two years when all except Howsie Noise left to work in other bands and projects.

Loki re-united with Howsie Noise late 2008 and recruited Billie-Jade on bass, Dman on drums and Ben Vengeance on guitars in 2009 and released Faith In Chaos EP on 14 April, 2009. Hatchet Dawn’s debut live performance was on 23 January, 2009 in Melbourne.

Hatchet Dawn opened for Marilyn Manson in October 2009 for four dates in Melbourne and Adelaide. The band also toured the east coast continuously in 2009. Loki and Ben Vengeance departed the band in January 2010 to develop A Million Dead Birds Laughing. Bert Cuzens from The Symbiosist/Dialysis and Daz Schmidt (also The Symbiosist) joined the band and fulfilled remaining booked tour commitments.

Hatchet Dawn released a debut album Rebirth on September 9, 2011. Rebirth was mixed by Neil Kernon. Hatchet Dawn opened for the Misfits in Melbourne in December 2011. Although DMAN recorded the drums on Rebirth, Shane 'DeVille' Turville joined the band to fulfil live touring commitments. Bert Cuzens and Daz Schmidt left the band December 2012 to pursue other music interests.

The band’s third release River Snake (Drop Remix), a remix single from the Rebirth LP featuring re-recorded vocals by Billie-Jade and remixed by DROP RMX (Sybreed) at Downtone Studios in Switzerland. A limited edition CD pressing and digital single was released 26th July 2013 as a duo of Billie-Jade and Howsie Noise and a music video was also made for the song featuring Liam Martin performing on drums.

Billie-Jade and Howsie Noise announced during October 2013 that Hatchet Dawn was going into a indefinite hiatus, along with also announcing they would continue releasing music in a new band called Diamond Noir and released a debut EP titled Monsters July 4th 2014 which was produced and recorded in LA with Logan Mader (ex Machine Head/Soulfly/Medication) during May 2013.

Howsie Noise also formed rock band Coffin Carousel in 2012 and started production on a LP worth of material with drummer Tim Rhodes (ex Voltera) and Hatchet Dawn Rebirth LP engineer Theron Rennison. Coffin Carousel released a debut single and music video titled Sinister November 21st 2014 and was mixed by Neil Kernon. Coffin Carousel released a follow up EP titled Fiend March 13th 2015.



2011 Rebirth Green Media


2009 Faith in Chaos Amphead


2013 River Snake (Drop Remix) Green Media