Nosce Teipsum

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Nosce Teipsum
OriginLaunceston, TAS
GenresDeath metal
Years active2000 - present
Associated actsBorn Headless, Zero Degrees Freedom, Spine, Morpheus
MembersSimon Freche, James Hooper, Dave Luck, Dave Maher, Shane West
Past membersJason Gray, John Hill

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • Dave Luck (guitar)
    • Dave Maher (guitar)
    • James Hooper (drums)
    • Shane West (vocals)
    • Simon Freche (bass)
  • Former members
    • Jason Gray (guitar) (2002 - 2010)
    • John Hill (bass) (2002 - 2003)

Band Information

Nosce Teipsum is a death metal band formed in Launceston in 2000, originally as Morpheus, under which name they issued a demo. As Nosce Teipsum the band produced another demo before issuing a split EP with fellow Launceston-based group Zero Degrees Freedom. Simon Freche from that group then joined on bass to replace John Hill.

The band has since completed a full length album. Nosce Teipsum has been variously described as atmospheric and doom/death but recorded material shows them to be a brutal if occasionally melodic death metal band. Dave Maher replaced long-serving guitarist Jason Gray in 2010.



2007 Wonders of the Invisible World self release


2005 The Human Condition (split with Zero Degrees Freedom) Pawn