From AusMetal Guide
Revision as of 19:43, 13 September 2022 by Goreripper (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresHeavy metal, Goth metal
Years active1992 - 2011
Associated actsDesecrator, Cryptal Darkness, Ion Drive, Black Majesty, Jolt, Legal Thieves, Mortification, Martyrs Shrine, Cybergrind, The Eternal, Humonic, Internal Nightmare
Past membersKieran O'Reilly, Lawrence Rhoads, Robert Charlton, Quaagar X, Riley Strong, Joe Stanley, Kent Ross, Stephie Prosthetic, Ridigy Rourke, Andrew Shepherd, Glenn James, Rudi Paoletti, Aaron Salt, Hanny Mohammed, Helen Sabo, Paul Tipping, Mike Forsberg, Naim Kirk Ibrahim, Daniel Bunn

Band members

  • Final line-up
    • Kieran O'Reilly (vocals) d. 28/7/11
    • Lawrence Rhoads (guitar)
    • Stephie Prosthetic (bass)
    • Kent Ross (keys)
    • Rigidy Rourke (drums)
    • Josef Stanley (guitar)
  • Former members
    • Glenn James (drums)
    • Andrew Shepherd (guitar)
    • Robert Charlton (bass)
    • Riley Strong (guitar) 2003 - 2007
    • Rudi Paoletti (keys) 2000 - 2007
    • Quaagar X (bass) 2003 - 2005
    • Aaron Salt (guitar) 1996 - 2000
    • Hanny Mohammed (guitar) 1996 - 2000
    • Mike Forsberg (drums) 1996
    • Helen Sabo (drums) 1996
    • Paul Tipping (bass) 1992 - 2000
    • Daniel Bunn (guitar) 1993 - 1994
    • Naim Kirk Ibrahim (guitar) 1992

Band information

Catwitch was a Melbourne band that blended sleaze rock, contemporary power metal, with Goth rock and vampiric imagery that was quite ahead of its time. Live, Catwitch was known for rather theatrical performances, a facet highlighted by a questionable TV documentary about them that was aired on the ABC. The line-up for the first album at least was Keiran O'Reilly and Rob Charlton plus Paul Tipping (bass), Aaron Salt (guitar) and Hanny Mohammed (guitar). After the second album the band virtually ended when only O'Reilly was left but in late 2003 Catwitch re-emerged with Charlton back in the group along with four new members, Josef Stanley (guitar) (Jolt), Rudi Paoletti (keyboards), Riley Strong (guitar) and bassist Quaagar X (Ion Drive) and a musical direction now geared solidly toward Goth metal. The Faces album appeared in November 2004.

Catwitch's line-up was in constant flux. Charlton switched to bass, James joined on drums, Ross on keyboards and Shepherd on guitars with original guitarist Lawrence Rhoads returning to the band. Catwitch returned to the studio and released the EP Burn in late 2007. A fourth album and a live DVD were mooted for 2008, but neither surfaced. Kieran O'Reilly was diagnosed with bowel cancer in 2009 but despite his condition Catwitch continued to work regularly on the Melbourne live scene. In February 2010 Catwitch opened for Wednesday 13 in Melbourne. O'Reilly's illness deteriorated in mid-2011 and he died aged 40 on July 28, 2011, five days after the rest of the band played a benefit to help raise funds for his medical costs.



1997 Phobophilia Independent
2000 This Haunted Lullaby Icon
2004 Faces Independent


2003 The Hidden Independent


2007 Burn Independent