From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Background information
OriginWollongong, NSW
GenresThrash metal, power metal
Years active2006 - present
Associated actsDungeon, Austere, Sedition, Ilium, Platinum Brunette, Nazxul, Baal Gadrial, Vanquish, Battalion, Malice, FromBeyond, Black Reign, Blackened Angel, Germ, Pestilential Shadows, King Oath, Primal Intent
MembersAndrew Dowling, Mark Furner, Lord Tim
Past membersTim Yatras, Mav Stevens, Damian Costas, Darryl Murphy

Band members

  • Current line-up
    • Lord Tim (vocals, guitar, keys)
    • Andrew Dowling (bass, vocals)
    • Mark Furtner (guitar)
  • Former members
    • Darryl Murphy (drums) 2016 - 2018
    • Simon Batley (drums) 2014 - 2016
    • Damian Costas (drums) 2009 - 2014
    • Tim Yatras (drums) 2006 - 2009
    • Mav Stevens (guitar) 2006 - 2007


Wollongong, NSW 2003

Band information

LORD began as a solo project for Dungeon singer and guitarist Lord Tim. The material on the first album is 80s inspired heavy rock and metal and features backing vocals from Dungeon's Stu Marshall. Ex-Dungeon member Justin Sayers provided some bass tracks and Gustav Hoffman some keyboards.

After the decision was made to abandon the use of the Dungeon name with the departure of two of the band's key members in late 2005, LORD became a full-fledged band. Yatras was also from Dungeon, and also with Nazxul and Austere. LORD began playing live in early 2006 and within months were touring nationally. The band supported Queensrÿche nationally in July 2006 and also appeared with Nightwish and Atrocity. LORD then supported Nevermore in November at the Festival of the Dead in Sydney, along with appearing at Metal for the Brain in Canberra the same afternoon.

Guitarist Mav Stevens left LORD in December 2006. Shane Linfoot from Transcending Mortality filled in for some touring commitments in early 2007 but he was replaced by Mark Furtner of FromBeyond. Furtner and Chris Brooks make guest appearances on the band's debut album Ascendence.

LORD toured the east coast with Saxon in May 2008. A limited edition EP entitled "Hear No Evil" was released on October 31, featuring a Kylie Minogue cover that won them some national airplay. LORD undertook an extensive tour of Australia and New Zealand in the first half of 2009. At the conclusion of the tour, which included a show with Paul Di'anno, Yatras was replaced by Damian Costas of Vanquish. Set in Stone was released in August and featured guest appearances by Craig Goldy, Glen Drover and members of Angra, Harem Scarem, Dragonland, Argument Soul, Enter Twilight and Vanishing Point.

In November 2009 LORD toured Japan. Upon their return to Australia, Lord Tim announced he had been forced to stand down from guitar playing for up to a year due to health issues; Matt Bell from KnightQueste was the band's temporary touring guitarist until late June 2010. His last show with the band was a support slot with Paul Di'anno in Sydney.

LORD released the Return of the Tyrant EP in September 2010 and embarked on an extensive tour that included Australian dates and shows in Japan with Doro and Jaded Heart. In March 2012 the band toured with Iced Earth. They also played the Evil Invaders festival and went to Europe for a tour that included several festival dates. An Australian tour with Electrik Dynamite began in September that was to incorporate an appearance at Bastardfest in Darwin but that event was cancelled. Digital Lies was released in February 2013. After wide-scale Australian touring in support of the album during the year, LORD announced a South-East Asian tour for late 2013. Costas departed in early 2014 and both Yatras and Simon Batley of Troldhaugen had terms behind the kit until Darryl Murphy joined in 2016. In the meantime, LORD released What Tomorrow Brings and re-recorded A Personal Journey, both with Yatras on drums. Their US visit to ProgPower XVII in 2016 was released as a live album. Murphy left LORD in 2018 and Tim Yatras has recorded with the band since then, but is not part of the official line-up. Fallen Idols was released in 2019 and with live shows curtailed due to COVID the band released a compilation of all their cover songs in early 2021.



2003 A Personal Journey Metal Warriors
2007 Ascendence Modern Invasion
2009 Set in Stone Dominus
2013 Digital Lies Dominus
2014 The Dungeon Era Box Set Dominus
2017 Live at ProgPower USA XVII Dominus
2019 Fallen Idols Dominus
2021 Undercovers Vol 1 Dominus


2008 Hear No Evil Dominus
2010 Return of the Tyrant Dominus
2013 Digital Lies (Extended Mix) Dominus
2015 What Tomorrow Brings Dominus
2016 Rarities Dominus
2020 Chaos Raining Dominus
2022 Blood Red Skies Dominus