From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Background information
OriginHobart, TAS
GenresBlack metal
Years active2005 - present
LabelsMoribund, Total Holocaust, Obsidian, Impure Sounds
Associated actsThy Plagues, When Day Descends, Praetorian, Wood of Suicides, Ruins, Hordes of the Black Cross, Disseminate, ABC Weapons, Whitehorse, Destruktor, Förfalla, Slothferatu
MembersTom Void, Ramez Bathish, Johnathan Cacia, Jared Mawdsley
Past membersEm Støy, Tiffany Burton (Okkvinkalfa), Trent Griggs, Leigh Ritson

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • Tom Void (vocals, guitars, programming, bass)
    • Ramez Bathish (guitar)
    • Johnathan Cacia (bass)
    • Jared Mawdsley (drums)
  • Former/studio members
    • Matt Arrebollo (drums)
    • Cennydd Prophet (vocals) 2012 - 2013
    • Em Støy (drums, vocals) 2009 - 2015
    • Okkvinkalfa (bass) 2013 - 2015
    • Trent Griggs (vocals) 2007 - 2011 (synths) 2022
    • Leigh Ritson (bass) 2010 - 2013 (samples, piano) 2022

Band Information

Raw, blasting, minimalist black metal band from Hobart, originally Tom Void's solo project. Live members have included Leigh Ritson (Disseminate) and Ramez Bathish (ABC Weapons), and recorded guests have included Alex Pope (Ruins). Thrall opened for Deafheaven in Melbourne in 2014. Various members were added as necessary for live and recording work. Ramesh Batish has been with the band since 2011; the most recent line-up was formed in 2021 to perform live. Tom Void records most of the tracks on Thrall's albums alone.



2010 Away From the Haunts of Men Moribund
2011 Vermin to the Earth Obsidian
2013 Aokigahara Jukai Moribund
2022 Schisms Impure Sounds


2015 Entrophy Independent