From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresDeath metal
Years active2001 – present
Associated actsThe Eternal, The Veil, Metallurgy, Born From the Ashes, Lamort, Cryptal Darkness, Rainshadow
MembersMatthew Nabil Lennon abd-el-Ahad, Jonathon Cachia, Liam, Dean Hulett, Reuben Stone
Past membersIan Ahles, O'Neil Alexander, Ryan Buesnel, Steve Byrnes, Sara Eida, Beth Johnstone, Ruck Luke, Andrew Waugh

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • Dean Hulett (drums)
    • Jonathan Cachia (vocals, bass)
    • Liam (vocals, guitar)
    • Matthew Nabil Lennon Abd-El-Ahad (guitar)
    • Reuben Stone (keys)
  • Former Members
    • Rick Luke (bass) (2002 - 2007)
    • Ian Ahles (vocals, guitar) (2001 - 2006)
    • Beth Johnstone (keys, then drums) (2003 - 2006)
    • Andrew Waugh (keys) (2005 - 2009)
    • Sara Eida (keys) (2005)
    • O'Neil Alexander (drums) (2006 - 2007)
    • Steve Byrnes (drums) (2003 - 2004)
    • Ryan Buesnel (drums) (2002 - 2003)



Melbourne, VIC, 2001

Band Information

Praetorian is melodic death metal band from Melbourne. After Buesnel departed to later join The Eternal, Byrnes took his place and Johnstone was added on keyboards but a year or so later Byrnes was fired. Johnstone took over the drumming role. The band toured interstate and completed its second album but before it was released Johnstone was replaced by former Cryptal Darkness drummer Alexander and then Ahles also left the band in 2006. Ahles now fronts Born From the Ashes, and also played guitar for Brisbane metallers Metallurgy. More recently Praetorian has recruited a new line-up featuring Dean Hulett of Rainshadow, Reuben Stone of Lamort and Matthew Nabil Lennon Abd-El-Ahad.



2002 Threnody self release
Crushing torment.jpg
2006 Crushing Torment self release

Compilation tracks:

Year Track Title Album Title Label
2005 "Wide-Eyed Death" Underearthed 3 independent