The Amenta

From AusMetal Guide
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The Amenta
OriginSydney, NSW
GenresDeath/black/industrial metal
Years active2002 – 2014, 2019 - present
LabelsListenable, EVP
Associated actsMalignant Monster, Paindivision, Crucible of Agony, Psycroptic, Ruins, Infernal Method, Centaur, Pathogen, Switchblade, Psi.Kore, Lord Kaos, Dimmu Borgir, Norse, Synperium, Rituals of the Oak, The Seer, Mortal Sin, Blood Duster, Crisis Act, Abramelin, Miscreation, Decayed Divinity
MembersCain Cressal, Dave Haley, Dan Quinlan, Erik Miehs, Tim Pope
Past membersAstennu, Scott Bernascone, Cessium 137, Joe Haley, Chad Halford, Dale Harrison, Nathan Jenkins, Jarrod Krafczyk, Andrew Lilley, Robin Stone, Ryan Huthnance

Band members

  • Current line-up
    • Cain Cressal (vocals)
    • Erik Miehs (guitar)
    • Tim Pope (keyboards)
    • Dave Haley (drums)
    • Dan Quinlan (bass)
  • Former members
    • Ryan Huthnance (guitar) 2012 - 2014
    • Robin Stone (drums) 2009 - 2013
    • Endrin (Dale Harrison) (bass) 2008 - 2009
    • Chad Halford (drums) 2008
    • Scott Bernascone (guitar) 2007 (live)
    • Jarrod Krafczyk (vocals) 2006 - 2009
    • Joe Haley (guitar) 2004 - 2007
    • Nathan Jenkins (bass) 2002 - 2007
    • Cessium 137 (vocals) 2002 - 2006
    • Astennu (guitar) 2002
    • Andrew Lilley (guitar) 2002

Band information

Extreme Sydney act The Amenta evolved from an earlier act called Crucible of Agony that featured Erik Miehs and Nathan Jenkins. Members were drawn from several other well known bands. Andrew Lilley of Psi.Kore and Infernal Method and journeyman guitarist Astennu were members for brief periods, and Dave and Joe Haley from Psycroptic were also members for a number of years up until 2007 when other commitments forced them to step down.

The Amenta had their debut album released through French label Listenable in 2004 almost a year before playing live for the first time. The Amenta began playing live in mid-2005 and then toured with Alchemist and played shows with Dismember and Nile. Early in 2006, the original vocalist left The Amenta, but the band continued to work on the follow-up. After this the band toured nationally with Festival of the Dead, with the guitar role being filled by ex-Switchblade member Scott Bernascone.

nOn was released on October 20, 2008 and featured contributions from various former members and other guests including Jason Mendonca from Akercocke, Alex Pope of Ruins and Nergal from Behemoth. In January 2009 The Amenta toured Europe with Deicide, Samael and Vader before returing to Australia for a three-month national tour with The Berzerker. An Australian tour with Psycroptic followed. Dan Quinlan from Paindivision and Cain Cressal of Malignant Monster joined The Amenta in 2009. In April 2010 the band toured nationally with Behemoth, Job For a Cowboy and Goatwhore. The EP/DVD "VO1D" was released as a free download in March 2011, followed by an Australian tour with Ruins and a subsequent European tour with Deicide and Belphegor, then an Australian tour in May with Morbid Angel. A second downloadable recording, Chokehold, was released in June 2012.

Robin Stone announced his departure and Dave Haley returned to the band, with Ryan Huthnance (Mortal Sin/The Seer) on second guitar. In early 2013, the Flesh is Heir album was released and The Amenta went to Europe, toured nationally with Cradle of Filth and played at the Hammersonic Festival in Indonesia. That was followed by east coast tours with Ruins and Ulcerate and an appearance at the Sonic Forge Festival. The Amenta announced an indefinite hiatus after shows with Rotting Christ in early 2014.

The Amenta became active again in 2019. Extensive touring plans were abandoned due to COVID restrictions but recordings continued with members spread around the country and Revelator was released in February 2021.



2004 Occasus Listenable
2008 n0n Listenable
2013 Flesh is Heir EVP
2021 Revelator EVP


2021 Solipschism Independent


2002 Mictlan self release
2011 V01D self release
2012 Chokehold Listenable