From AusMetal Guide
Revision as of 10:15, 3 April 2022 by Goreripper (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
OriginMelbourne, VIC
GenresDeath metal, thrash metal, heavy metal
Years active1990 – present
LabelsRowe, Nuclear Blast, Intense
Associated actsLight Force, Horde, InExordium, Terraphobia, Teramaze, Martyrs Shrine, Altera Enigma, Paramaecium, Deliverance, Desolate Eternity, Catwitch, Burial Grounds, Scourged Flesh, The Eternal, Soundscape
MembersSteve Rowe, Lincoln Bowen, Andrew Esnouf
Past membersJayson Sherlock, Cameron Hall, Mick Carlisle, Phil Gibson, Jason Campbell, Bill Rice, Dave Kellogg, Keith Bannister, Jeff Lewis, Mike Forsberg, Damien Percy, Dave Kilgallon, Adam Zaffarese, Troy Dixon

Band Members

  • Current Line-Up
    • Steve Rowe (vocals, bass)
    • Lincoln Bowen (guitar)
    • Andrew Esnouf (drums)
  • Former Members
    • Troy Dixon (guitar) 2011
    • Adam Zaffarese (drums) 2001 - 2003, 2008 - 2010
    • Dave Kilgallon (drums) 2008
    • Damien Percy (drums) 2006 - 2008 (d. 7.2.18)
    • Mike Forsberg (drums) 2004 - 2006
    • Jeff Lewis (guitar) 2001
    • Keith Bannister (drums) 1996 - 2000
    • Dave Kellogg (guitar) 1995
    • Bill Rice (drums) 1995
    • Jason Campbell (guitar) 1995
    • Phil Gibson (drums) 1994 - 1995
    • Mick Carlisle (guitar) 1991 - 1995
    • Jayson Sherlock (drums) 1990 - 1994
    • Cameron Hall (guitar) 1990 - 1991


Melbourne, VIC, 1990

Band Information

Mortification is a Christian death metal band formed in 1990 by former Light Force members Steve Rowe and Cameron Hall, and drummer Jayson Sherlock. Hall was replaced by Mick Carlisle after the first album and the line-up remained unchanged until Phil Gibson stepped in for Sherlock in 1994.

Over time, Mortification has evolved through a thrash phase and on towards a more traditional style. Primitive Rhythm Machine was recorded by Rowe alone utilising studio musicians when the rest of band split during a US tour. Shortly after returning to Australia he restructured the line up with Lincoln Bowen (guitar) and Keith Bannister (drums) and the band produced Envision Evangelene. Problems befell the band at this point as Rowe fell ill during a tour and was diagnosed with leukaemia. Given only months to live, Rowe confounded everyone by fighting off the disease and eventually making a full recovery, although he now requires a cane to walk.

By late 1998 Mortification had returned to its gruelling schedule of constant touring and recording. Triumph of Mercy was recorded during the height of Rowe's illness, but Hammer of God saw a return to form. Bannister left the band at this point and was replaced by Adam Zefferese. Early in 2002 another upheaval of the line-up occurred when Bowen left and was replaced by Canadian guitarist Jeff Lewis. Bowen joined The Eternal in 2005. Mick Jelinic of Terraphobia also joined the band after the Relentless album was recorded but the four piece line-up lasted only one live performance before Lewis returned to Canada. Zafferese was then replaced by Mike Forsberg in August 2003.

Dave Kilgallon of Scourged Flesh and Grave Forsaken became the band's sixth drummer in 2008, replacing Damien Percy. The band's line-up has continued to be something of a revolving door, but since 2011 Mortification has been Rowe, Bowen and drummer Andrew Esnouf.



1990 Break the Curse Nuclear Blast
1991 Mortification Nuclear Blast
1992 Scrolls of the Megilloth Nuclear Blast
1993 Post Momentary Affliction Nuclear Blast
1994 Bloodworld Nuclear Blast
1995 Live Planetarium Intense
1995 Primitive Rhythm Machine Intense
1996 The Best of Five Years Nuclear Blast
1996 Envision Evangelene Rowe
1996 Live Without Fear Rowe
1998 Triumph of Mercy Rowe
1999 Hammer of God Rowe
2000 Ten Years Live Not Dead Rowe
2001 The Silver Cord is Severed Rowe
2002 Ten Years: 1990 - 2000 - Power, Pain and Passion Rowe
2002 Relentless Rowe
2004 Brain Cleaner Rowe
2006 Erasing the Goblin Rowe
2007 Live Humanitarian Soundmass
2009 The Evil Addiction Destroying Machine Soundmass
2010 Twenty Years in the Underground Nuclear Blast
2012 Scribe of the Pentateuch Rowe
2015 Realm of the Skelataur Rowe
2017 Shades of Death - A Best of Mortification Rowe
2020 The Intense Years - 30th Annivesary Box Set Rowe


1996 Noah Sat Down and Listened to the Mortification Live EP While Having a Coffee Rowe
2017 Ancient Prophecy/Overseer Soundmass


1994 Split with Tourniquet Intense


1994 The History of Mortification Rowe
1994 Grind Planets Nuclear Blast
1996 Envidion Rowe
2001 Conquer the World Nuclear Blast
2006 Live Planetarium Rowe